Skip to main content

‘The Comey Rule’ Trailer: An Unsettling Look At Brendan Gleeson As Trump In Showtime Limited Series Starring Jeff Daniels

'The Comey Rule' Trailer: An Uncanny Look At Brendan Gleeson As Trump

The first trailer for Showtime’s The Comey Rule has been released and it will definitely stir up some conversation — especially with Emmy winner Brendan Gleeson’s portrayal of Donald Trump. Even though we only see him as Trump for a limited amount of time, it’s uncanny and… a little creepy.

In the two-part limited series which will air on September 27 and 28 (perfect timing with the forthcoming election — which probably isn’t a coincidence), The Comey Rule is based on the New York Times bestselling book A Higher Loyalty and stars Emmy winner Jeff Daniels (The Newsroom) plays the titular former FBI Director James Comey. The series takes a deep-dive into the historically turbulent events surrounding the 2016 presidential election and its aftermath, which divided a nation. Rather than delivering a straight biopic, The Comey Rule‘s trailer give a tense and anxiety-ridden taste of a story about two powerful figures whose different personalities, ethics and loyalties put them on a collision course.

The Comey Rule was adapted for the screen and directed by Oscar-nominated screenwriter Billy Ray (Captain Phillips, Shattered Glass). Daniels and Gleeson are joined by Holly Hunter (The Piano) as former Acting Attorney General Sally Yates, Michael Kelly (Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan) as former FBI Director Andrew McCabe, Jennifer Ehle (Zero Dark Thirty) as Patrice Comey, Scoot McNairy (Halt and Catch Fire) as former Deputy Attorney General Rod Rosenstein, Jonathan Banks (Better Call Saul) as former National Intelligence Director James Clapper, Oona Chaplin (Game of Thrones) as former FBI lawyer Lisa Page, Amy Seimetz (The Girlfriend Experience) as former FBI lawyer Trisha Anderson, Steven Pasquale (The People v. O. J. Simpson: American Crime Story) as former FBI agent Peter Strzok, Peter Coyote (The Disappearance) as former FBI Director Robert Mueller and Kingsley Ben-Adir (High Fidelity) as President Barack Obama. The limited series also features Steve Zissis (Togetherness), Shawn Doyle (House of Cards), Brian d’Arcy James (Spotlight), Dalmar Abuzeid (Anne with an E), William Sadler (When They See Us), T.R. Knight (Grey’s Anatomy), Joe Lo Truglio (Brooklyn Nine-Nine), Spencer Garrett (Bombshell), Michael Hyatt (Crazy Ex-Girlfriend), and Damon Gupton (Black Lightning). The series is executive produced by Shane Salerno, Alex Kurtzman, Heather Kadin and Billy Ray and produced by CBS Television Studios in association with Home Run Productions, The Story Factory, and Secret Hideout.

Watch the trailer above and check out the poster below.

Key Art for THE COMEY RULE. Photo Credit: Ben Mark Holzberg/CBS Television Studios/SHOWTIME.





Deadline is a part of Penske Media Corporation. © 2023 Deadline Hollywood, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by VIP