Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...


Latest Awardsline News

James Corden On Making People Smile & The “Optimism And Joy” Of America – The Contenders Emmys Video

James Corden

From “Carpool Karaoke” to “Crosswalk: The Musical” to “Role Call” (that’s the one where they act out all the films of an actor in 10 minutes), The Late Late Show With James Corden has seen great success with its viral-friendly segments. Still, at Deadline’s recent The Contenders Emmys event, host James Corden said “it’s embarrassing to take sole credit for those segments which people have grown to love.” Corden said that when they film, he sees an “unbelievable” team of… Read

Tracee Ellis Ross On The Changing Landscape Of Inclusivity, Solving Pay Disparity & Directing ‘Black-ish’

Tracee Ellis Ross

About to enter its fifth season, Black-ish has so far earned Tracee Ellis Ross two Emmy noms and a Globe win for the role of Rainbow 'Bow' Johnson. In Season 4, Ross took the helm to direct an episode that marked the beginning of a separation for the sitcom's beloved couple Bow and Dre (Anthony Anderson). Amid protests from fans, the couple were fortunately reunited by the season finale, but not before making audiences both laugh and cry through the story arc. A longtime… Read

‘Stranger Things’ Creators, Cast & Crew On Building Out Singular Visual Universe With Season 2 — Exclusive Video

One of the biggest television phenomena of our time, what would the Duffer brothers’ Stranger Things be without The Upside Down, or its perfectly calibrated retro aesthetic? As expected last season, the series' production design found its place among 18 total Emmy nominations, though production designer Chris Trujillo and his team were not among those leaving the night with a statuette. With the stellar expansion of the singularly imaginative series' world this season… Read

Ken Burns Says Making PBS’ ‘The Vietnam War’ Docuseries “Was About Learning” – The Contenders Emmys Video

Trent Reznor Atticus Ross Lynn Novick Ken Burns

In Ken Burns and Lynn Novick's 10-part documentary series The Vietnam War, 80 witnesses give testimonies about their experiences in the conflict from Americans who fought to protesters, North and South Vietnamese soldiers, and civilians. Burns thought he knew a lot about the war, but when he took on the project, it didn’t go exactly as he expected. “I grew up in Ann Arbor, Michigan in the 1960s, I was draft-eligible — I thought I knew a lot about Vietnam,” he said during… Read

Desus & Mero Promise To “Reduce White Guilt” For Emmy Voters In FYC Campaign

Desus Nice and The Kid Mero are splitting from Viceland at the end of next week after less than two years of swathe-cutting late-night duty, but not before they make one last hard press on Emmy voters. Over the past week, a long-planned and Vice Media-funded Desus & Mero FYC campaign has shifted to the next gear with a play on the industry's inclusion problems and promises to "reduce white guilt" if the Bronx-based Bodega Boys score enough votes for a nomination. With… Read

Dick Van Dyke, Hayley Mills & Others Celebrate Disney Musical Legends Sherman Brothers At Joyous Motion Picture Academy Tribute

Keala Settle, co-star of the smash movie musical The Greatest Showman, hit the stage at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ Samuel Goldwyn Theatre on Wednesday night to sing a killer rendition of the iconic Disneyland theme, “It’s a Small World," the kickoff to a magical night as Oscar celebrated the writers of that tune: Disney legends Richard M Sherman and Robert B. Sherman. So the lyrics might have said “it’s a small world," but the lines outside the… Read

Bryan Cranston Talks Putting Comedic Spin On Amazon’s ‘The Dangerous Book For Boys’ – The Contenders Emmys Video

Bryan Cranston

Bryan Cranston came to Deadline’s annual The Contenders Emmys awards-season event and brought with him his new Amazon comedy series The Dangerous Book for Boys, which he co-created with Greg Mottola. Cranston opened up about the initial difficulty of coming up with a direction for the series, which is based on Conn and Hal Iggulden’s 2012 bestselling book. “It was in the drama department,” he said. “I tried and tried and I couldn’t figure it out. Like so many things, when… Read

TV Talk Podcast: Emmy Voters, Here Are The Hot Races We’re Talking About

TV Talk Podcast Deadline

We are in the final days of phase 1 of Emmy voting and for this week's Deadline Podcast: TV Talk we spotlight the races and shows that are the greatest hits of television 2018. From the drama of the Best Actress, Drama category with The Crown's Claire Foy vs. The Handmaid's Tale's Elisabeth Moss to the potential Jeff Daniels and Benedict Cumberbatch battle in the Best Actor Limited Series or TV Movie, there are primetime hits galore to be mined. In a year when HBO’s Veep… Read

VFX Supervisor Everett Burrell Brings AIs, Soaring Megalopolis & Real-World Science To ‘Altered Carbon’

Winning an Emmy as a makeup effects creator before transitioning to an accomplished career as a visual effects supervisor, Everett Burrell needed to bring all of his talents to the table with Netflix cyberpunk series Altered Carbon, in order to bring an intricate, expansive sci-fi world to life. Set in the megalopolis of Bay City—what became of San Francisco—in 2384, Laeta Kalogridis' series imagines a world where consciousness has been extracted onto miniature disks… Read

‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ Producers On “Ambitious” Season 2 – The Contenders Emmys Video

Warren Littlefield Bruce Miller Handmaid's Tale

Now in its second season, The Handmaid’s Tale showrunner Bruce Miller had one thing to say about the award-winning Hulu series’ sophomore run: “You just don't want to f*ck it up.” Miller was joined onstage by executive producer Warren Littlefield at Deadline’s annual The Contenders Emmys event to talk about going beyond Margaret Atwood's 1985 dystopian novel for Season 2, while at the same time staying loyal to the universe she created. Miller said they are “still in… Read

Re-Creating New York’s Gilded Age, ‘The Alienist’ Production Designer Bought Out All The Cobblestone In Eastern Europe

An Emmy nominee for the first season of True Detective, production designer Mara LePere-Schloop reteamed with executive producer Cary Fukunaga on TNT drama The Alienist, where she set out after the extremes of worldbuilding, recreating 19th century New York on an expansive Budapest backlot. Crafting eight city blocks in total, the production designer raised six-story tenement buildings in the middle of Hungary's brutal winter, striving to do justice to the "rich… Read

PGA Awards Set 2019 Date & Timeline

Jordan Peele

The Producers Guild said its 30th annual PGA Awards are set for Saturday, January 19, 2019 at the Beverly Hilton. Donald De Line and Amy Pascal return as awards chairs for a third consecutive year. Submissions are now open in all categories — Motion Pictures, Television Series/Specials, Long and Short Form Television, Sports Programs and Children's Programs — for calendar year 2018 via the guild’s website (see the full timeline below). Nominations in film and TV… Read