Election Results Signal Big Change For AFTRA's Los Angeles & National Boards

I told you that some anti-merger SAG members were running in the AFTRA board elections. Well, turned out they won. This, despite the fact that certain AFTRA members tried to sink their candidacies with smear emails. I suppose turnabout is fair play. (During the recent SAG elections, a group of pro-AFTRA merger members got themselves elected to the SAG Board.) Now Anne-Marie Johnson (SAG’s 1st vice president, chairman of the SAG Hollywood Board, and one of Membership First’s leaders), and Alan Ruck (an MF stalwart) won places on AFTRA’s National Board. David Jolliffe (another MF stalwart) won a place on AFTRA’s Los Angeles Local Board. It’s all perfectly legal: they are dual card-holders and therefore eligible to be AFTRA candidates because they qualified for the ballot by nominating petition. Here are the election results:

LOS ANGELES, CA (June 3, 2009) — The American Federation of Television and Radio Artists announced today election results for the AFTRA Los Angeles Local.

Actor Ron Morgan was re-elected President of AFTRA Los Angeles and will begin his new two-year term as Local President on July 1; he ran unopposed in his bid for reelection. Mr. Morgan was also elected to the AFTRA National Board of Directors for a four-year term; he also serves as a National Vice President of the union.

Also uncontested in their reelection for two-year terms as officers for AFTRA Los Angeles were First Vice President Susan Boyd Joyce, a singer; actor Gabrielle Carteris, Second Vice President; Third Vice President Bobbie Bates, a dancer; Fourth VP Jason George, an actor; Recording Secretary Patrika Darbo, an actor; and actor Jay Gerber continues as Treasurer.

Reelected to three-year terms on the Los Angeles Local Board of Directors were actors David Bowe, Raza Burgee, Andrew Caple-Shaw, Gabrielle Carteris, Bob Joles, Kate Linder, and Paul Napier; announcer Mike Sakellarides; dancer Galen Hooks; broadcaster Pepe Barreto; and singers Susan Boyd Joyce and Dick Wells.

Incoming Los Angeles Local Board members include actors David Andriole, Mimi Cozzens, David Jolliffe, Marcia Strassman; and announcer Chuck Southcott.

AFTRA National Board members from the Los Angeles Local reelected to four-year terms include actors Gabrielle Carteris, Jay Gerber, Ron Morgan, and Paul Petersen; dancer Bobbie Bates; and singers Susan Boyd Joyce and Sally Stevens.

Newly-elected to the AFTRA National Board are actors Anne-Marie Johnson, D. W. Moffett, Jason Priestley, and Alan Ruck.

One-hundred-and-ninety-eight (198) Los Angeles Delegates to AFTRA’s 62nd National Convention were also elected. The National Convention will be held August 6-8 in Chicago, Illinois.

There are 73 seats total on the new AFTRA National Board, which will be officially seated following AFTRA’s National Convention on August 9 in Chicago, Illinois. The AFTRA Los Angeles Local will be assigned 26 seats on the new National Board; 13 were up for election, 11 were open seats and two seats were assigned to the Announcer category and the Newsperson category, respectively.

All AFTRA Los Angeles Local officer and board terms begin July 1. The AFTRA National Board terms begin at the conclusion of this summer’s National Convention.

This article was printed from https://deadline.com/2009/06/election-results-signal-big-change-for-aftras-la-officers-national-board-9482/