Marvel Unveils ‘Captain America 3: Civil War’, Chadwick Boseman As ‘Black Panther’, ‘Captain Marvel’ & More

UPDATED: Marvel Studios is unveiling its Phase 3 superhero slate right now at the El Capitan theater, where it just officially announced Doctor Strange, which will have a November 4, 2016, release date. (We broke the news yesterday that Benedict Cumberbatch is the choice to front the new franchise.) Also new to the Marvel lineup is Black Panther, which has been slated for November 3, 2017, and will star Chadwick Boseman; Captain Marvel, who has gone by several monikers, but this one is the Carol Danvers version, meaning this will be Marvel’s first female superhero pic; and The Inhumans set for November 2, 2018.

Marvel release scheduleMarvel President Kevin Feige said Boseman, who showed up for the presentation as did Robert Downey Jr and Chris Evans, will be introduced in Civil War “in costume.” Downey and Evans did a bit onstage at where they were fighting over who gets Black Panther on their side.

Marvel’s already been planting clues of Black Panther’s involvement in Phase 3, Feige teased today. It’s a huge get for Boseman, who emerged in larger than life leading parts playing Jackie Robinson in 42 and James Brown in Get On Up. He’s repped by Greene & Associates and Management 360.

Meanwhile, Captain Marvel will mark Marvel’s first toplining female superhero. Although a standalone Black Widow film starring Scarlett Johansson has been rumored – or just hoped for by fans – Feige said for now Marvel’s plan for Black Widow, and Mark Ruffalo’s Hulk, will be relegated to key roles in the Avengers films. Feige added that a writer and director will likely be announced soon before they cast the lead.

Marvel Civil WarHere’s Marvel’s updated release slate:

May 5, 2015: Avengers: Age Of Ultron
July 17, 2015: Ant-Man

May 6, 2016: Captain America: Civil War
November 4, 2016: Doctor Strange

May 5, 2017: Guardians Of The Galaxy 2 (previously July 28, 2017)
July 28, 2017: Thor: Ragnarok
November 3, 2017: Black Panther

May 4, 2018: Avengers: Infinity War – Part I
July 6, 2018: Captain Marvel
November 2, 2018: The Inhumans

May 3, 2019: Avengers: Infinity War – Part II

This article was printed from