Art Directors Guild To Add Tyler, Lisanby, Beckman To Hall Of Fame

They worked with Charlie Chaplin, Cecil B. DeMille and Judy Garland, and now they’re being inducted into the Art Directors Guild’s Hall of Fame. Legendary production designers Walter Tyler, Charles Lisanby and John Gabriel Beckman will receive the posthumous honor at the guild’s 19th annual Excellence in Production Design Awards in January.

Tyler, who died in 1990, won the 1951 Oscar for Best Art Direction-Set Decoration for DeMille’s Sampson and Delilah, and was nominated for seven other Oscars, including his work on The Ten Commandments, Roman Holiday and Sabrina.

Lisanby, who died last year, won three Emmys and was nominated for eight others over the course of his 50-year career, and is considered one of the most influential scenic designers of all time. A longtime friend of pop artist Andy Warhol, he won Emmys for Baryshnikov on Broadway, The Lives of Benjamin Franklin, and Barry Manilow: Big Fun on Swing Street. He also was known for designing variety shows for Judy Garland, Barbra Streisand and Diana Ross.

Beckman, who died in 1989, worked as a set designer, art director and production designer for 55 years, much of the time at Warner Bros. His films include Casablanca, Lost Horizon, the first English-language version of Les Miserables, and Chaplin’s 1947 black comedy Monsieur Verdoux.

“Beckman, Lisanby and Tyler join an honored and distinguished group of Art Directors Guild Hall of Famers, whose collective work parallels the best of motion picture and television production design,” said ADG council chairman John Shaffner. “Their enduring legacy and accomplished mastery of our profession are most worthy, influential, inspiring and welcomed additions.”

This article was printed from