Academy Nicholl Fellowships In Screenwriting Winners Announced

Academy FellowshipsThree individuals and one writing team have won the 2014 Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting competition. The new fellows and their screenplays are Sam Baron (Cambridge, UK), The Science Of Love And Laughter; Alisha Brophy (Los Angeles) and Scott Miles (Austin), United States of Fuckin’ Awesome; Melissa Iqbal (London), The Death Engine; Sallie West (Charleston, SC), Moonflower. Winners receive a $35,000 prize (the writing team splits it), the first installment of which will be doled out November 13 at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills. The winners, who will complete a feature-length screenplay during their fellowship year, were selected from a record 7,511 submitted scripts. The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has awarded 137 fellowships since 1986.


This article was printed from