Cannes: Short Film & Cinéfondation Rosters Unveiled

22x30_Cannes2014With less than 24 hours until the Official Selection lineup is announced, the Cannes Film Festival has today unveiled the titles in the Short Film and Cinéfondation sections. The selection committee received 3,450 shorts this year from 128 countries. Those were whittled down to 10 which will compete for the Short Film Palme d’Or. The Cinéfondation section includes 16 movies out of 1,631 submissions from film school students. The festival says this year marks a “very significant” broadening of scope, with 38% of the schools making the cut for the first time. This is also the first time a film from Egypt has been included, and more than half of the 16 competitors are by women. Following are the full lists for each category:

Related: Cannes: Official Selection Buzz Sharpens (& Sprawls) Ahead Of Thursday’s Reveal

Our Blood, dir: Max Chan, (Hampshire College, U.S.)
Home Sweet Home, dirs: Pierre Clenet, Alejandro Diaz, Romain Mazevet, Stéphane Paccolat (Supinfocom Arles, France)
The Aftermath of the Inauguration Of The Public Toilet At Kilometer 375, dir: Omar El Zohairy (High Cinema Institute, Academy of Arts, Egypt)
Stone Cars, dir: Reinaldo Marcus Green (NYU Tisch School of the Arts, U.S.)
Last Trip Home, dir: Han Fengyu (Ngee Ann Polytechnic, Singapore)
A Radiant Life, dir: Meryll Hardy (Le Fresnoy, France)
Niagara, dir: Chie Hayakawa (ENBU Seminar, Japan)
Oh Lucy!, dir: Atsuko Hirayanagi (NYU Tisch School of the Arts Asia, Singapore)
The Visit, dir: Inbar Horesh (Minshar for Art, School and Center, Israel)
Moonless Summer, dir: Stefan Ivancic (Faculty of Dramatic Arts, Serbia)
The Bigger Picture, dir: Daisy Jacobs (National Film and Television School, UK)
Provincia, dir: György Mór Karpati (University of Theatre and Film Arts, Hungary)
Breath, dir: Kwon Hyun-ju (Chung-Ang University, South Korea)
Thunderbirds, dir: Léa Mysius (La Fémis, France)
Sourdough, dir: Fulvio Risuelo (Centro Sperimentale di Cinematografia, Italy)
Skunk, dir: Annie Silverstein (The University of Texas at Austin, U.S.)

Manhole, dir: Giovanni Aloi (Italy)
The Administration Of Glory, dir: Ran Huang (China)
Invisible Spaces, dir: Dea Kulumbegashvili (Georgia)
Happo-En, dirs: Sato Masiko, Ohara Takayoshi, Seki Yutaro, Toyota Masayuki, Hirase Kentaro (Japan)
Leidi, dir: Simón Mesa Soto (Colombia/UK)
The Last One, dir: Sergey Pikalov (Azerbaijan)
The Execution, dir: Petra Szocs (Hungary/Romania)
Aïssa, dir: Clément Trehin-Lalanne (France)
Les Corps Etrangers, dir: Laura Wandel (Belgium)
Yes We Love, dir: Hallvar Witzo (Norway)

This article was printed from