Animation Guild Elects DreamWorks Animation Tech Director As New President

There’s change and there’s more of the same at the Animation Guild after the Executive elections last night. Like the WGA West and WGA East’s recent elections, it was a largely uncontested vote at the Animation Guild Tuesday. DreamWorks Animation Tech Director Nathan Loofbourrow takes over as the Guild Local IATSE 839’s new President. The former Guild VP and first tech director to be President replaces Bob Foster in the position. Also in an uncontested election, DreamWorks Animation writer and Guild Executive Board member Jack Thomas takes over as the new VP. Without opposition, Steve Hulett was re-elected as Business Representative, a position he has held since 1989. Executive Board member and retake animation editor Karen Carnegie Johnson won the Sergeant-At-Arms job unopposed. No one sought the nomination for the Recording Secretary job and the position will be filled by appointment. The new officers will be sworn in on December 3.

Related: WGAW Incumbent President Chris Keyser Re-Elected

This all went down on Tuesday evening in Burbank at the general membership meeting the Guild had with around 90 of the Local’s approximately 2,8000 members present. With only one person each running for the President, Vice-Present, Biz Rep and Sergeant-At-Arms positions, members voted in a white ballot to confirm the candidates. However, it isn’t all over electionwise at the Animation Guild. Ballots on the 15 candidates running to fill the 11 Executive Board positions will be counted on November 9. Soon to be ex-Guild President Foster is running for the Executive Board as are incumbents Bronwen Barry, John Cataldi, Nicole Dubuc, Janette Hulett, Cathy Jones, Gordon Kent and Eugene Son, plus former Board member Russell Calabrese. First time candidates David Chlystek, Bill Flores, David Gemmill, Larry Smith, Robert St. Pierre and Dave Thomas are also running

This article was printed from