LA-Based Unite For Strength Announces SAG-AFTRA Election Slate

Just under a week after SAG-AFTRA announced the candidates for its first election since last year’s merger, the Unite for Strength slate put out its list today. Current National co-President Ken Howard, who is running for the new solo top position, is LA-based UFS’ endorsed candidate in the election. Amy Aquino, who with Howard helped form UFS several years ago, is the endorsed Secretary-Treasurer candidate. Clyde Kusatsu is the UFS endorsed candidate for the Los Angeles Local president’s seat. Sons of Anarchy and Pacific Rim star Ron Perlman, Oscar winner Octavia Spencer (The Help) and Tony Shalhoub expressed their support for the slate. “Unite for Strength’s record of success proves that no one will fight harder or smarter to protect SAG-AFTRA members. With our TV/Theatrical negotiations ahead, it’s crucial to elect leaders who will deliver real results – that’s Unite for Strength,” said Perlman in a statement today. Here’s the UFS release:

Related: USAN Unveils SAG-AFTRA Election Slate

Los Angeles, (July 18, 2013) – Unite for Strength today announced that SAG-AFTRA Co-President Ken Howard and Co-Secretary Treasurer Amy Aquino will seek re-election as the Union’s top directly elected national officers. The group will field a slate of 52 candidates running for positions on the SAG-AFTRA National and Los Angeles Local Boards, including veteran actor Clyde Kusatsu, who is running to become Los Angeles Local President. The slate brings together a broad coalition of candidates with wide-ranging experience in union leadership, including Tony Shalhoub (Monk), Gabrielle Carteris (Beverly Hills, 90210), Jeff Garlin (Curb Your Enthusiasm), Patrika Darbo (Rango), Lisa Vidal (Grimm), Hal Eisner (Award-winning broadcaster at KTTV FOX 11), Jason George (Grey’s Anatomy), Stephen Collins (Devious Maids), and Iqbal Theba (Glee). UFS will also field more than 100 candidates vying for positions as delegates to the first SAG-AFTRA National Convention, to be held in Los Angeles in late September. Election ballots were mailed to members on July 16 and will be tabulated on August 15. (more…)

This article was printed from