WGAW Unveils Initial 2013 Election Candidates: Incumbent President Chris Keyser Running Unopposed For Now

There’s a big surprise today in the Writers Guild West‘s 2013 initial list of election candidates: the scribe selected to run against incumbent president Christopher Keyser declined the nomination. That means, unless someone else can be convinced to run, Keyser right now is running unopposed. He was a newcomer to WGAW leadership first elected two years ago when he defeated the polarizing Patric Verrone. Even back then, in 2011, few people stepped forward to run for the presidency: insiders told me that was because of great apathy. It seems nothing has changed even though the WGA constitution doesn’t allow for uncontested races:

Los Angeles – The Writers Guild of America, West’s Nominating Committees have announced the initial list of candidates for the 2013 WGAW Officers and Board of Directors election.

The Officer candidates are as follows: President* – Christopher Keyser (inc.); Vice President – Timothy J. Lea, Howard A. Rodman (inc.); Secretary-Treasurer – Dan Wilcox, Carl Gottlieb (inc.). (*The second nominee designated by the committee declined the nomination.)

There are 16 candidates nominated to run for eight open seats on the WGAW’s Board of Directors as follows: Thania St. John (inc.), Andrew Goldberg, Cynthia Riddle, Ari B. Rubin, Carleton Eastlake (inc.), Nancy Miller, Jonathan Fernandez, Henry Alonso Myers, Patric M. Verrone, Billy Ray (inc.), Alfredo Barrios, Jr. (inc.), Flint Dille, Lee Aronsohn, David Maples, Karen Harris, David S. Goyer (inc.). (more…)

This article was printed from https://deadline.com/2013/06/writers-guild-west-election-2013-candidates-527032/