NYC Mayor Bloomberg To Receive Special Tony Honor

A special Tony Honor for Excellence in the Theatre will be presented to NYC Mayor Bloomberg at the 2013 Tonys, the awards’ committee officially announced today. Bloomberg will be feted during the June 9 telecast for his support of the Broadway community and dedication to NYC tourism. This fall he launches the interactive Spotlight On Broadway multimedia promo highlighting the theater community. Mayor Bloomberg is scheduled to appear at the Tonys as presenter alongside host Neil Patrick Harris, Tom Hanks, Jake Gyllenhaal, Scarlett Johansson, Sigourney Weaver, Anna Kendrick, Zachary Quinto, Sally Field, Audra McDonald, Cyndi Lauper, Alan Cumming, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Megan Hilty, Andrew Rannells, Jane Krakowski, Bernadette Peters, Cuba Gooding Jr, Jesse Eisenberg, Jon Cryer, Matthew Morrison, Laura Benanti, Steven Van Zandt, Hal Prince, Andrew Lloyd Webber, Barrett Foa, Martha Plimpton and Mike Tyson.

This article was printed from