National Entertainment Journalism Award

HOLLYWOOD — The winners of the 1st annual national contest for entertainment journalists were announced tonight at a reception in the Steve Allen Theater during Oscar week. The Los Angeles Press Club inaugurated the U.S.-wide entertainment journalism awards in recognition of its unique location in the nation’s showbiz capital. A trio of judges decided the best news story, best feature story and best critic in the separate categories of print, television, radio and online media.

The full awards list is here.

I am truly honored that my work on Deadline Hollywood Daily swept the online awards, winning all three categories: best news story, best feature story and best critic.

In the print categories, Matthew Garrahan of the Financial Times received the award for best news story (my LA Weekly column placed 2nd), Matthew Belloni of Esquire Magazine received the award for best feature story and LA Weekly‘s Ella Taylor was named best critic.

In the television categories, Jacob H. Soboroff of “Why Tuesday?” received the best news story award, Jeffrey K. Howard of KCLV in Las Vegas received the best feature award, and Shawn Edwards and Russ Simmons of Fox4News in Kansas City were named best critics.

In the radio categories, Darby Maloney and Matt Holzman of KCRW received the best news story award in the radio category. KPCC’s Queen Kim and Charles Soloman received the best feature story award, and Joe Morganstern of KCRW was named best critic.

The finalist judges were the former editor of Television Week and The Hollywood Reporter Alex Ben Block, Daily Variety‘s Ted Johnson, and USA Today‘s Claudia Puig.

This article was printed from