Deadline Hollywood’s Pete Hammond Wins 50th Annual Publicists Award: Hooray!

Both Deadline Film Editor Mike Fleming and Deadline Awards Columnist Pete Hammond were nominated for the 50th Annual Publicists Award this year. At the gala luncheon held today, the Publicists of the International Cinematographers Guild (IATSE Local 600) announced that Hammond won. (Like it would have killed you flacks to give it to both our guys?) Pete now becomes only the second journalist to win this award twice. Deadline TV Editor Nellie Andreeva was nominated last year. And, believe it or not, I was nominated in 2008. (Everybody immediately thought it was a hoax.) What an incredible showing for our small staff! Deadline is very proud of all our nominees and this year’s winner.

Other winners were announced in four categories: the Les Mason Lifetime Achievement Award, the highest honor they can bestow on one of their members, went to Heidi Schaeffer, vice president PMKBNC Public Relations; the International Media Award ominees went to James White (UK); Excellence in Unit Still Photography in Motion Pictures went to Jamie Trueblood; the television still photography was won by Suzanne Tenner.

Also honored at the event were Kirk Douglas with a Lifetime Achievement Award; Kevin Feige, president of Marvel Studios, with the Motion Picture Showmanship Award; Chris McCumber and Jeff Wachtel, co-presidents of USA Network, with the Television Showmanship Award; the Maxwell Weinberg Showmanship Awards for motion pictures and television and the Bob Yeager Award, which recognizes significant community service.

This article was printed from