Scripter Award Finalists Announced

A tie in balloting resulted in six nominees rather than the usual five for the 25th annual Scripter Awards, which honors the screenwriter or screenwriters of the year’s most accomplished movie adaptation as well as the author of the written work upon which the screenplay is based. It is bestowed by the Friends of USC Libraries and winners will be announced February 9 at USC, where Brokeback Mountain screenwriters Larry McMurtry and Diana Ossana will receive the group’s Literary Achievement Award. Here are the nominees:

Joshuah Bearman, author of the article “The Great Escape,” Antonio J. Mendez, author of The Master of Disguise, and screenwriter Chris Terrio
Warner Bros., Wired for Bearman’s article, and Penguin for Mendez’s book

Beasts of the Southern Wild
Dramatist Lucy Alibar, who wrote the play Juicy and Delicious, and screenwriter Benh Zeitlin, who co-wrote the screenplay with Alibar
Fox Searchlight and Diversion Books, publisher of the play Juicy and Delicious, upon which Beasts of the Southern Wild is based

Life Of Pi
Novelist Yann Martel and screenwriter David Magee
20th Century Fox and Mariner Books

Doris Kearns Goodwin, author of Team Of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln, and screenwriter Tony Kushner
DreamWorks and Mariner Books

Perks Of Being A Wallflower
Stephen Chbosky, author of the novel Perks of Being a Wallflower, as well as the screenplay based upon the book
Summit Entertainment and MTV Books

Silver Linings Playbook
Author Matthew Quick and screenwriter David O. Russell
Weinstein Company and Sara Crichton Books

This article was printed from