Michael Haneke’s ‘Amour’ Sweeps European Film Awards

The 25th European Film Awards were held this evening in Malta with Michael Haneke’s Amour taking the best picture, director, actor and actress honors. Going in, the Cannes Palme d’Or winner led the nominations with six nods. The categories it did not win were screenwriting, which went to Tobias Lindholm and Thomas Vinterberg for The Hunt, and cinematography which was scooped by Sean Bobbitt for Shame. Helen Mirren and Bernardo Bertolucci were also on hand to receive the European Achievement in World Cinema and the Lifetime Achievement awards, respectively. Apart from the prizes, the lively ceremony included a marriage proposal, a liberal use of the f-word and a video comparing Hollywood movies to junk food. The EFAs are the European equivalent of the Oscar, “Or, as they call them in America, ‘The What?’,” host Anke Engelke quipped. The awards are handed out by the European Film Academy and honor only films hailing from Europe. Below is a full list of winners:

Amour, dir Michael Haneke (Austria/France/Germany)

Michael Haneke for Amour

Emmanuelle Riva in Amour

Jean-Louis Trintignant in Amour

Tobias Lindholm & Thomas Vinterberg for The Hunt

This article was printed from https://deadline.com/2012/12/michael-hanekes-amour-sweeps-european-film-awards-380758/