Art Directors Guild Winners: 'Hugo', 'Harry Potter', 'Dragon Tattoo', 'Boardwalk Empire'

Hugo, Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows Part 2 and The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo took the Art Directors Guild Awards for period, fantasy and contemporary movies tonight in ceremonies hosted by Paula Poundstone at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Production Designer Tony Walton received the Guild’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Hall of Fame inductees were Robert Boyle, William Darling, and Alfred Junge. Teams from the Harry Potter films were recognized for Outstanding Contribution to Cinematic Imagery: Executive Producer David Heyman, Producer David Barron; directors Christopher Columbus, Alfonso Cuaron, Mike Newell, and David Yates; creator and author J.K. Rowling; screenwriters Steve Kloves and Michael Goldenberg; production designer Stuart Craig; art director Neil Lamont and set decorator Stephenie McMillan.

The Guild also screened two short films by Cindy Peters. The first was a behind-the-scenes look at preparations for the show. The second, 75 Years of Inspirational Design: A Personal Reflection in Eight Chapters featured production designers Albert Brenner, Terry Marsh, James D. Bissell, Jeannine Oppewall, Rick Carter, Rick Heinrichs, Roy Christopher and Guy Hendrix Dyas. The ceremonies were produced by Tom Wilkins and Greg Grande. Full list of winners follows:


Period Film
HUGO Production Designer: Dante Ferretti

Fantasy Film

HALLOWS PART 2 Production Designer: Stuart Craig

Contemporary Film

THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO Production Designer: Donald Graham Burt


One-Hour Single Camera Television Series

Television Movie or Mini-Series
MILDRED PIERCE Production Designer: Mark Friedberg

Episode of a Half Hour Single-Camera Television Series
Episode: Express Christmas – Production Designer: Richard Berg (more…)

This article was printed from