SAG Awards TV: The Equivalent Of A Rerun

In the TV series categories, SAG members largely stuck to their choices from last year, repeating 5 of the 6 series winners from 2011. Alec Baldwin and Betty White appear primed to “own” the lead comedy actor and actress titles for as long as they’re on TV, which, given the fact that Baldwin is signed for another season of 30 Rock and that White shows no signs of slowing down at 90, could be awhile. Baldwin extended his record to 6 consecutive wins, one for every season of 30 Rock to date. White is also at a perfect batting average, scoring 2 consecutive trophies for 2 years on Hot In Cleveland. In total, this is White’s third consecutive SAG Award as she made the unusual transition from a lifetime achievement award in 2010 to regular SAG trophies in 2011 and 2012. Baldwin and White’s enormous popularity among fellow actors means that ABC’s Modern Family, which repeated as best comedy series ensemble, is yet to nab an individual acting prize for its cast.

Also frozen in time were the best drama series ensemble and the best actor in a drama series categories, which went to last year’s winners, HBO’s Boardwalk Empire and its star Steve Buscemi. The only “new blood” in the series categories was in the drama actress category won by veteran actress Jessica Lange for FX’s American Horror Story, in what surprisingly was her first SAG trophy.

There was a mild surprise in the actor in a TV movie/mini-series category won by Paul Giamatti for Too Big To Fail. This is the first ever win for the HBO movie, which competed at the Emmys and the Golden Globes. But then, Giamatti is one of those actor’s actor who is well respected by his peers, this is his fourth consecutive SAG Award. No surprises on the distaff side won by Emmy and Golden Globe winner Kate Winslet for HBO’s Mildred Pierce.

SAG Awards Live Blog 

SAG Awards Winners List

This article was printed from