2012 PGA Award Winners: 'The Artist', 'Tintin', 'Boardwalk Empire', 'Modern Family'

Thomas Langmann’s The Artist won the Producers Guild of America (PGA) motion picture category tonight for the 23rd Annual Producers Guild Awards. They’re considered a strong prognosticator for the Best Picture Oscar: the past two years, the PGA’s theatrical motion picture award winners started their successful runs for Oscar (The Hurt Locker and The King’s Speech) over the presumed favorites. The event at the Beverly Hilton Hotel celebrates the finest producing work of the year, and gives the Guild an opportunity to honor some of the living legends who have shaped the producing profession. This year, the PGA is awarding special honors to Leslie Moonves (Milestone Award), Steven Spielberg (David O. Selznick Achievement Award In Theatrical Motion Pictures), Don Mischer (Norman Lear Achievement Award In Television), Stan Lee (Vanguard Award), and In The Land Of Blood And Honey (The Stanley Kramer Award). The 2012 Producers Guild Awards co-chairs are Paula Wagner and Michael Manheim. (The producers’ names for each production are listed in alphabetical order and are not necessarily the proper order of credits.)


Darryl F. Zanuck Producer of the Year Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures:

The Artist – Producer: Thomas Langmann

The award was presented by Annette Bening.

Producer Of The Year Award in Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:

The Adventures Of Tintin – Producers: Peter Jackson, Kathleen Kennedy, Steven Spielberg

“We are shocked. This journey began 28 years ago,” said Kathleen Kennedy.

Producer Of The Year Award in Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures:

Beats, Rhymes & Life: The Travels Of A Tribe Called Quest – Producers:
Michael Rapaport, Edward Parks (*additional producers eligibility pending
arbitration completion)

Michael Rappaport accepted and said: “I can’t believe we won. Oh shit. This is a completely independent movie.”

Award presented by Jessica Chastain (The Help).


The David L. Wolper Producer Of The Year Award In Long-Form Television:

Downton Abbey (Masterpiece) (PBS) – Producers: Julian Fellowes, Nigel Marchant, Gareth Neame

The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer Of Episodic Television, Comedy:

Modern Family (ABC) – Producers: Paul Corrigan, Abraham Higginbotham, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Jeff Morton, Jeffrey Richman, Dan O’Shannon, Brad Walsh, Bill Wrubel, Danny Zuker

Presented by Melissa McCarthy (Mike & Molly, Bridesmaids)

The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer Of Episodic Television, Drama:

Boardwalk Empire (HBO) – Producers: Eugene Kelly, Howard Korder, Stephen Levinson, Martin Scorsese, Rudd Simmons, Tim Van Patten, Terence Winter

Presented by Evan Rachel Wood (Mildred Pierce)

Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television:

The Colbert Report (Comedy Central) – Producers: Meredith Bennett, Stephen T. Colbert, Richard Dahm, Tanya Michnevich Bracco, Tom Purcell, Jon Stewart (*additional producers eligibility pending arbitration

Outstanding Producer of Competition Television:

The Amazing Race (CBS) – Producers: Jerry Bruckheimer, Elise Doganieri, Jonathan Littman, Bertram van Munster, Mark Vertullo

Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television:

American Masters (PBS) – Producers: Susan Lacy, Julie Sacks

News Programs:

60 Minutes (CBS)

Sports Programs:

30 For 30 (ESPN)

Children’s Programs:

Sesame Street (PBS)


Web Series:

30 Rock Presents Jack Donaghy, Executive Superhero (NBC.com)

This article was printed from https://deadline.com/2012/01/producers-guild-award-2012-winners-modern-family-live-218432/