USC's Scripter Awards Unveils Nominees

The USC Scripter Awards, which recognize the writers behind the year’s best adapted screenplays along with the author of the original work, announced nominees for its 24th edition. The winner will be announced at a black-tie ceremony February 18, when Paul Haggis will also be honored with the Literary Achievement Award. The five finalists:

A Dangerous Method (screenwriter Christopher Hampton, adapted from on John Kerr’s nonfiction book A Most Dangerous Method: The Story of Jung, Freud, and Sabina Spielrein and the 2002 stage play The Talking Cure by Hampton)

The Descendants (screenwriters Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon and Jim Rash, adapted from Kaui Hart Hemmings’ novel The Minor Wars

Jane Eyre (screenwriter Moira Buffini, adapted from the 1847 novel by Charlotte Brontë)

Moneyball (screenwriters Steven Zaillian, Aaron Sorkin and Stan Chervin, based on Michael Lewis’ book Moneyball: The Art of Winning an Unfair Game)

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy (screenwriters Bridget O’Connor and Peter Straughan and author John le Carré)

This article was printed from