Art Directors Guild Movie, TV Nominees Announced

LOS ANGELES, January 3 — The Art Directors Guild (ADG) today announced nominations in nine categories of Production Design for theatrical motion pictures, television, commercials and music videos competing in the ADG’s 16th Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards for 2011. The nominations were announced by ADG Council President Thomas A. Walsh and Awards co-producers Tom Wilkins and Greg Grande. Deadline for final voting, which is done online, is February 2. The black-tie ceremony announcing winners will take place Saturday, February 4, 2012 at the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills with Paula Poundstone serving as host for the third consecutive year.

A Lifetime Achievement Award will go to Emmy Award® winning Production Designer Tony Walton. In addition, the ADG will induct the following legendary Production Designers from the past into its Hall of Fame: Robert Boyle, William Darling and Alfred Junge. This year’s Art Directors Guild Cinematic Imagery Award will be presented to the principal team behind the Harry Potter films including Producers David Heyman and David Barron; Director David Yates; creator and author J.K. Rowling; Screenwriter Steve Kloves; Production Designer Stuart Craig; Art Director Neil Lamont; and Set Decorator Stephenie McMillan. Filmmaker Cindy Peters’ will present a special 75th Anniversary film in eight chapters that celebrates inspirational achievements in design.


Period Film

THE ARTIST Production Designer: Laurence Bennett

HUGO Production Designer: Dante Ferretti

THE HELP Production Designer: Mark Ricker

ANONYMOUS Production Designer: Sebastian Krawinkel

TINKER TAYLOR SOLDIER SPY Production Designer: Maria Djurkovic

This article was printed from