Ken Howard & Amy Aquino Lead UFS Slate

SAG Unveils Candidate Lists For National Elections

Los Angeles, (August 4, 2011) – Unite for Strength today announced that Screen Actors Guild President Ken Howard and Secretary Treasurer Amy Aquino will seek re-election as the Guild’s top national officers. The group will also field a slate of 34 candidates to run for positions on SAG’s National and Hollywood Boards of Directors. The UFS slate features 27 incumbent or returning candidates, including SAG 1st Vice President Ned Vaughn and sitting board member Adam Arkin, and 7 first-time candidates, including Tony Shalhoub (Monk), Stephen Collins (No Ordinary Family), Kate Flannery (The Office), Lisa Vidal (The Event), and Iqbal Theba (Glee). Ballots will be mailed to SAG members on August 23 and will be tabulated on September 22.

“I’m proud to be running with these candidates,” said Ken Howard, who was elected as SAG President on the Unite for Strength ticket in 2009. “Two years ago, I promised members I would do everything possible to bring SAG and AFTRA together, so performers would no longer face the serious problems that come from being divided in two unions. Members have made it clear they need action as soon as possible, and I’m committed to delivering a formal merger plan by January. With an outstanding team like this leading SAG, I know it will happen.”

This article was printed from