SAG Awards Submissions Open, Thesps Encouraged To Go Online

SAG is trying to go green in a big way and today aggressively began encouraging more than 1500 publicists, managers and actors reps to submit performances online for nominations consideration rather than using the old standard submissions forms still available for download from SAG’s awards website or by calling SAG’s office. The guild is informing everyone that this is the final year paper submission forms will be accepted and next year the process will be exclusively online. They are encouraging technically challenged reps to try out the online process this year for the 18th Annual SAG Awards rather than wait  for next year. SAG began the conversion to online voting  for its final awards voting six years ago (nominations are selected by nominating committees composed of 2000 randomly chosen members each for movies and TV). Last year it informed voters by special postcards they had to make special requests for paper ballots. This caused confusion among some Oscar consultants who felt some of SAG’s near-100,000 voters were being disenfranchised when they inadvertently missed the deadline or didn’t get the message. Nevertheless SAG is determined to keep marching into the 21st century and embracing the online process which the guild says saves heavily on postage and paper costs. In their press release today SAG proudly points to being honored in 2009 and again in 2010  with the Environmental Media Association’s Green Seal which “recognizes a production’s outstanding efforts to implement sustainable initiatives and promote environmental awareness”. SAG says 12 years ago it pioneered online-only credentialing for media and publicists and this year is offering online submissoins for nom consideration for the ninth year, online voting for the nom committees for the eighth year and online voting for final balloting for the seventh year.

Submissions for this year’s Screen Actors Guild Awards opened on July 11 and will close on Thursday , Oct 27 at 5pm (PST). Nominees will be announced Dec. 14 and the awards will be broadcast live on TNT and TBS on Sunday January 29, 2012.

This article was printed from