Santa Barbara Film Festival Awards: Oscar-Nominated Directors Latest Honorees

UPDATED with latest: Oscar-nominated directors Chloé Zhao, David Fincher, Lee Isaac Chung and Thomas Vinterberg are the recipients of this year’s Santa Barbara Film Festival Director of the Year Award. They will be honored during a ceremony April 6 at the festival, which this year runs March 31-April 10.

Earlier this month, the fest said that Carey Mulligan will receive the Cinema Vanguard Award, joining the likes of Bill Murray, Amanda Seyfried and Delroy Lindo on the fest’s honorees list this year.

On the Rocks star Bill Murray will receive the Maltin Modern Master Award, Amanda Seyfried will receive the Montecito Award for Mank, Da 5 Bloods star Delroy Lindo will receive the American Riviera Award, and The Trial of the Chicago 7 and Borat 2 star Sacha Baron Cohen will receive Santa Barbara’s Outstanding Performer of the Year Award.

There are also eight recipients of its Virtuosos Award, given annually to a group recognizing their noteworthy performances in film. Riz Ahmed (Sound of Metal), Maria Bakalova (Borat Subsequent Moviefilm), Kingsley Ben-Adir (One Night in Miami), Andra Day (The United States vs. Billie Holiday), Sidney Flanigan (Never Rarely Sometimes Always), Vanessa Kirby (Pieces of a Woman), Tahar Rahim (The Mauritanian) and Zendaya (Malcolm & Marie).

Check back as more SBIFF awards are handed out and this year’s honoree list is filled out.

Director of The Year Award

Chloé Zhao, Nomadland
David Fincher, Mank
Lee Isaac Chung, Minari,
Thomas Vinterberg, Another Round

Cinema Vanguard Award

Carey Mulligan, Promising Young Woman

Modern Master Award

Bill Murray, On the Rocks

Montecito Award

Amanda Seyfried, Mank

Virtuoso Awards

Riz Ahmed, Sound of Metal
Maria Bakalova, Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
Kingsley Ben-Adir, One Night in Miami
Andra Day, The United States vs. Billie Holiday
Sidney Flanigan, Never Rarely Sometimes Always
Vanessa Kirby, Pieces of a Woman
Tahar Rahim, The Mauritanian
Zendaya, Malcolm & Marie

American Riviera Award

Delroy Lindo, Da 5 Bloods

Outstanding Performer of the Year Award

Sacha Baron Cohen, Borat Subsequent Moviefilm and The Trial of the Chicago 7

This article was printed from