L.A. Film Critics Association Names ‘Small Axe’ As Best Picture Of 2020; Carey Mulligan, Chadwick Boseman Honored With Acting Awards

By Bruce Haring, Dino-Ray Ramos

Small Axe, Mangrove
BBC/Turbine Studios

Members of the Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) are gathering Sunday to vote for their annual year’s best in movies. The group will begin deliberating over winners in 14 categories, honoring a winner and a runner-up.

LAFCA named Steve McQueen’s Small Axe as Best Picture with Chloe Zhao’s Nomadland as the runner-up. The two films switched places with the Best Director category going to Zhao while McQueen was the runner up.

Last year, the Los Angeles critics tapped eventual Best Picture winner Parasite as its choice for Best Picture. That film’s director Bong Joon Ho won Best Director.

Other big winners included Promising Young Woman’s Carey Mulligan nabbing the Best Actress award while the late Chadwick Boseman earned Best Actor for his role in Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom.

The organization gave the New Generation Award to Radha Blank, the director, writer and star of The 40-Year-Old Version. Meanwhile, LAFCA rewarded Career Achievement Awards to Hou Hsiao-Hsien and Harry Belafonte, with 106-year-old Norman Lloyd receiving the inaugural Legacy Award

“We are so thrilled to honor the unprecedented, resonant and masterful ‘Small Axe,’ Steve McQueen’s quintet of thematically linked films,” said LAFCA President Claudia Puig in a statement. “And we are also honored to award the artistry of a wonderfully diverse and massively talented group of winning filmmakers. Particularly notable in a year when the film industry took a huge blow, our winners reflect extraordinary achievement.”

The awards season has been in stall mode because of the coronavirus pandemic, but the New York Film Critics Circle kicked things off Friday awarding A24’s First Cow as its Best Feature. The LAFCA voting date is pretty much on schedule; last year’s gathering was on December 8. The Oscars in 2021 are April 25, the latest date ever for the ceremony, which has pushed back the entire kudos parade.

Read the complete list of LAFCA winners below.

Best Picture


Runner-up: NOMADLAND

Best Director

Winner: Chloe Zhao, NOMADLAND

Runner-up: Steve McQueen, SMALL AXE

Best Actress

Winner: Carey Mulligan, PROMISING YOUNG WOMAN

Runner-up: Viola Davis, MA RAINEY’S BLACK BOTTOM

Best Actor

Winner: Chadwick Boseman, MA RAINEY’S BLACK BOTTOM

Runner-up: Riz Ahmed, SOUND OF METAL

Best Documentary

Winner: TIME


Best Screenplay

Winner: Emerald Fennell, PROMISING YOUNG WOMAN


Best Animation


Runner-up: SOUL

Best Supporting Actress

Winner: Winner: Youn Yuh-jung, MINARI

Runner-up: Amanda Seyfried, MANK

Best Supporting Actor

Winner: Glynn Turman, MA RAINEY’S BLACK BOTTOM

Runner-up: Paul Raci, SOUND OF METAL


Winner: Yorgos Lamprinos, THE FATHER

Runner-up: Gabriel Rhodes, TIME

Best Production Design

Winner: Donald Graham Burt, MANK

Runner-up: Sergey Ivanov, BEANPOLE

Best Music/Score

Winner: SOUL

Runner-up: LOVERS ROCK

Best Cinematography

Winner: SMALL AXE, Shabier Kirchner

Runner-up: NOMADLAND, Joshua James Richards

Best Foreign-Language Film


Runner-up: MARTIN EDEN

The Douglas Edwards Experimental Film Award

Winner: John Gianvito’s HER SOCIALIST SMILE

New Generation Award

Winner: Radha Blank, THE 40-YEAR-OLD-VERSION

Career Achievement Award

Hou Hsiao-Hsien

Harry Belafonte

Legacy Award

Norman Lloyd

This article was printed from https://deadline.com/2020/12/los-angeles-film-critics-2020-winners-movies-1234659451/