New Critics' Choice Television Awards Unveil Categories & Voting Procedures

The Broadcast Television Journalists Association, the newly launched offshoot of the Broadcast Film Critics Association, has set the categories and voting procedures for the inaugural Critics’ Choice Television Awards. Like BFCA, BTJA is comprised mainly of journalists working in electronic media, in this case covering television. The Critics’ Choice TV Awards, which will be presented June 20 at a luncheon at the Beverly Hills Hotel, will also mirror the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards, which are going into their 17th year and televised live on VH1.

What separates the Critics’ Choice Television Awards from most mainstream TV awards shows is the Most Exciting New Series category for summer and fall 2011 series — it will be judged based on pilots and/or early episodes. It is open to both scripted and unscripted shows. For the other categories, the new awards show is using the same period of eligibility as the TV Academy does for the Emmys: June 1, 2010-May 31, 2011. The categories, skewed heavily toward talent in front of the camera, are: (more…)

This article was printed from