ESPYS Reveal 2020 Honorees; Focuses On Black Lives Matter Movement And Racial Injustice

The 2020 ESPYS aired on Sunday and it may have looked like a different ceremony this year, but it still delivered awards show flair, celebrating the best in sports. While handing out trophies virtually to some of the most prominent figures in sports, it served inspiration and hope.

Hosted by WNBA’s Sue Bird, OL Reign’s Megan Rapinoe and Seattle Seahawks QB Russell Wilson, the ceremony was virtual and kicked off with a video tribute honoring the Black men and women in sports. Wilson then addressed the deaths of George Floyd, Ahmaud Arbery, Breonna Taylor and others which launched into Black Lives Matter movement of racial injustice that has been front and center in the past couple of weeks, but has been a battle for too long. He then addressed the need for his white colleagues to stand shoulder to shoulder with them and use their voice. “We need you to lead too,” he said. “Just don’t listen, help.” His co-hosts, Rapinoe and Bird, shared the same sentiment. Watch the video below.

Rapinoe and Bird also wore T shirts with “GF”, further honoring George Floyd. Later on in the broadcast, they aired another package that further amplified this message with more figures for the world of sports and Hollywood saying “the time is now” for progress. The video ended with: “As of June 21, 2020, none of the officers who murdered Breonna Taylor have been arrested.”

Nelson Cruz from Minnesota Twins tearfully accepted the Muhammad Ali Sports Humanitarian Award while Kevin Love of Cleveland Cavaliers was honored with the Arthur Ashe Courage Award.

Read the list of winners below.

Muhammad Ali Sports Humanitarian Award
Nelson Cruz, Minnesota Twins

Sports Humanitarian Team of the Year
Los Angeles Dodgers

Corporate Community Impact Award
Burton Snowboards

Can’t-Stop-Watching Moment
Jackson State Manager Thomas “Snacks” Lee Drills 3

Jimmy V Award for Perseverance
Taquarius Wair, Mesabi Range College

Pat Tillman Award for Service
Kim Clavel, Boxing

Stuart Scott ENSPIRE Award by Bristol Myers Squibb
WNBA and WNBA Players Association, Maryam Shojaei

Stuart Scott ENSPIRE Award Presented by UFC
The Hilinski Family

Arthur Ashe Courage Award
Kevin Love, Cleveland Cavaliers

Billie Jean King Youth Leadership Award Honorees
Joel Apudo, Batouly Camara, Ally Friedman, Javonn Islar, Elijah Murphy, Chelsea Quito and Niah Woods

Sports Philanthropist of the Year Award
Ralph C. Wilson, Jr. Foundation

League Humanitarian of the Year Award
National Football League


This article was printed from