New Round Of 24 Hour Plays ‘Viral Monologues’ Set For Tonight; Daveed Diggs, Michael Shannon & Clark Gregg Among Performers

Patrick Wilson performs 'Simon: A Real Estate Guy' by Monique Moses 24 Hour Plays

A new set of 24 “Viral Monologues” from The 24 Hour Plays will be available on Instagram tonight, with actors Daveed Diggs, Michael Shannon, Clark Gregg, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, Dylan Baker, Danny Pudi and Josh Hamilton, among others, performing monologues written by playwrights including Jonathan Marc Sherman, Eric Bogosian and Stephen Adly Guirgis.

See the complete list of performers and writers below. The new round of monologues will begin at 6 pm/ET, with a new one posted every 15 minutes until midnight on Instagram and The 24 Hour Plays website (see links below).

The first round of monologues hit Instagram last week, with actors including Patrick Wilson, Rachel Dratch and Hugh Dancy, among many others, performing works by such writers as Simon Rich, Jesse Eisenberg and Hillary Bettis.

Since 1995, The 24 Hour Plays have staged “limited-time theater” events that bring together actors and playwrights to write and produce a short drama in 24 hours or less. Last week the project shifted to an online format in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

“We’ve always made work about the most challenging moments in our lives, from 9/11 to Hurricane Sandy to the 2016 election, but writing and performing new plays in 24 hours without gathering was a singular challenge,” said artistic director Mark Armstrong. “We hope that this moment offers even more people the chance to learn about our small non-profit theater organization, so that we’ll be able to continue our unique artistic work for years to come.”

Performers debuting in Round 2 are: Kelly AuCoin, Dylan Baker, Becky Ann Baker, Anna Baryshnikov, Nicholas Braun, Marylouise Burke, Juliana Canfield, Ty Defoe, Daveed Diggs, Ashley Fink, Noah Galvin, Clark Gregg, Damon Gupton, Ryan Haddad, Josh Hamilton, William Jackson Harper, Daniel K. Isaac, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, muMs, Coral Peña, Danny Pudi, Michael Shannon, Jessica St. Clair and Nathan Stewart-Jarrett.

The Round 2 writers are: Will Arbery, Clare Barron, Eric Bogosian, Bekah Brunstetter, Joseph Dougherty, Kristoffer Diaz, Sarah Gancher, Gracie Gardner, Stephen Adly Guirgis, J. Holtham, Lily Houghton, Elizabeth Irwin, Sofya Levitsky-Weitz, Aaron Wigdor Levy, David Lindsay-Abaire, Tim J. Lord, Gabe McKinley, Dan O’Brien, Anya Richkind, Jonathan Marc Sherman, Charly Evon Simpson, Alena Smith and Tracey Scott Wilson.

The monologues can be viewed here and here.

This article was printed from