Cinema Eye Honors: ‘American Factory’, ‘Leaving Neverland’ Lead Winners

American Factory

American Factory took top honors at the 13th annual Cinema Eye Honors recognizing the best in documentary filmmaking, tonight at the Museum of the Moving Image in New York.

A portrait of a once-closed Ohio factory bought by a Chinese billionaire, the Netflix release picked up awards for Outstanding Nonfiction Feature and Outstanding Direction for filmmakers Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert.

CNN Films and Statement Pictures release, Apollo 11, a look at the first humans to land on the moon and return to Earth, also won two awards — Outstanding Editing for director/editor Todd Douglas Miller and Original Score for composer Matt Morton.

Other winners included HBO’s Leaving Neverland, Netflix’s Homecoming: A Film by Beyoncé, and National Geographic’s The Cave.

In December, the State Department denied Syrian-born filmmaker Feras Fayyad, who helmed The Cave, a travel visa to enter the United States to support the film, as Deadline reported Saturday.

Below is the full list of Cinema Eye Honors winners.

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking
American Factory
Directed by Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert
Produced by Steve Bognar, Julia Reichert, Jeff Reichert and Julie Parker Benello

Outstanding Achievement in Direction
Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert
American Factory

Outstanding Achievement in Editing
Todd Douglas Miller
Apollo 11

Outstanding Achievement in Production
Waad Al-Kateab
For Sama

Kirstine Barfod and Sigrid Dyekjær
The Cave

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography
Fejmi Daut and Samir Ljuma

Outstanding Achievement in Original Music Score
Matt Morton
Apollo 11

Outstanding Achievement in Graphic Design or Animation
Patrick Cederberg, Matthew Hornick and Ash Thorp
The Great Hack

Outstanding Achievement in a Debut Feature Film
The Disappearance of My Mother
Directed by Beniamino Barrese

Audience Choice Prize
The Biggest Little Farm
Directed by John Chester

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Film for Broadcast
Leaving Neverland
Directed by Dan Reed

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Film for Broadcast
Tricky Dick
Directed by Mary Robertson

Outstanding Achievement in Editing in a Nonfiction Film or Series for Broadcast
David Tillman
Apollo: Missions to the Moon
National Geographic

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography in a Nonfiction Film or Series for Broadcast
Mark Ritchie, Julian Klincewicz, Dikayl Rimmasch and Irie Calkins

Spotlight Award
Directed by Shengze Zhu

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Short Filmmaking
Ghosts of Sugar Land
Directed by Bassam Tariq

Heterodox Award
The Souvenir
Directed by Joanna Hogg

Legacy Award
Directed and Produced by Godfrey Reggio
Cinematography Ron Fricke
Editing Ron Fricke and Alton Walpole
Original Score Philip Glass

This article was printed from