New York Film Critics Circle Names ‘The Irishman’ Best Film; Safdie Brothers, Lupita Nyong’o, Antonio Banderas Among Winners

'The Irishman'

UPDATED with all winners: The New York Film Critics Circle has selected Martin Scorsese’s The Irishman as its Best Film of 2019, the second consecutive major critics group honor for Netlfix’s long (and long-in-the-works) mob drama. Yesterday, the National Board of Review bestowed it the same award.

The NYFCC, one of the early critics-group bellwethers of the movie awards season, voted throughout Wednesday morning for its selections in 12 categories. Winners will be honored at the group’s annual gala January 7 at Tao Downtown.

Also on the winners list today were Lupita Nyong’o, named Best Actress for Universal’s Us, and Antonio Banderas of Sony Pictures Classics’ Pain And Glory‘s was named Best Actor. Josh and Benny Safdie were named Best Director for A24’s Uncut Gems, while Quentin Tarantino’s original script for Sony’s Once Upon a Time in Hollywood was voted Best Screenplay (Tarantino won Best Director at NBR yesterday).

Other winners include a second award or The Irishman: Joe Pesci for Best Supporting Actor. Laura Dern won for Supporting Actress for both Netflix’s Marriage Story and Sony’s Little Women, a rare double mention. Bong Joon-Ho’s International Oscar favorite Parasite from Neon took the Foreign Language Film category.

Other winners included Mati Diop’s Atlantics for Best First Film and Honeyland for Best Non-Fiction Film (see the full list of today’s winners below).

Last year, the NYFCC selected another Netlfix pic, Alfonso Cuarón’s Roma, as its Best Film. That one went on to score 10 Oscar nominations including Best Picture, and eventually duplicated its NYFCC Director and Cinematography wins. Other wins last year that duplicated the feat at the Oscars: Regina King as Supporting Actress for If Beale Street Could Talk and Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse for Animated Film.

The NYFCC, founded in 1935, includes critics from daily and weekly newspapers, magazines and online publications.

Here is this year’s list of winners:

Best Film
The Irishman

Best Director
Josh and Benny Safdie, Uncut Gems

Best First Film

Best Actor
Antonio Banderas, Pain And Glory

Best Actress
Lupita Nyong’o, Us

Best Supporting Actor
Joe Pesci, The Irishman

Best Supporting Actress
Laura Dern, Marriage Story and Little Women

Best Screenplay
Quentin Tarantino, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Best Cinematography
Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Best Foreign Language Film

Best Non-Fiction Film

Best Animated Film
I Lost My Body

Special Awards
Randy Newman
Cole Kronman (student scholarship)

This article was printed from