Movie Academy Board Of Governors Elections: Dody Dorn Wins Runoff For Film Editors Branch Seat – Update


UPDATED, 10:08 a.m.: Dody Dorn has won the runoff election for the open Film Editors Branch seat on the 2019–20 Board of Governors. She and Mark Goldblatt had tied for the seat in the board election last week, just the fifth tie in Academy history.

PREVIOUSLY, June 11: The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced its newly elected 2019–20 Board of Governors. They will assume their posts July 1.

Among the newly elected governors are 2019 Oscarcast producer Donna Gigliotti from the Executives Branch, screenwriter Eric Roth (A Star Is Born, Oscar winner for Forrest Gump) and filmmaker Jennifer Yuh Nelson (Kung Fu Panda 2 & 3).

Steven Spielberg was among those re-elected to the board — after his bid to revise Academy rules regarding streaming services — along with Laura Dern, Mark Johnson, Nancy Utley and others.

Balloting in the Academy’s Film Editors Branch produced a tie between candidates Dody Dorn and Mark Goldblatt, necessitating a runoff election. Voting is set for next Monday and Tuesday. The Academy last held runoff elections in 2018 for the Producers Branch and in 2016 for the Film Editors Branch.

The Academy noted that its election increased the board’s diversity. The number of female Academy governors is up from 22 to 24, and people of color increases from 10 to 11, including the recently announced new Governors-at-Large: DeVon Franklin, Rodrigo Garcia and Janet Yang.

Governors from the Academy’s 17 branches may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms.

Newly elected to the board:
Ellen Kuras, Cinematographers Branch
Ruth Elaine Carter, Costume Designers Branch
Donna Gigliotti, Executives Branch
Howard Berger, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch
Jennifer Yuh Nelson, Short Films and Feature Animation Branch
Eric Roth, Writers Branch

Reelected to the Board: 
Laura Dern, Actors Branch
David Rubin, Casting Directors Branch
Steven Spielberg, Directors Branch
Roger Ross Williams, Documentary Branch
Nancy Utley, Marketing and Public Relations Branch
Laura Karpman, Music Branch
Mark Johnson, Producers Branch
Jan Pascale, Production Design Branch
Kevin Collier, Sound Branch
Craig Barron, Visual Effects Branch

This article was printed from