Broadway’s ‘Hadestown’ To Star Acclaimed London Cast: Reeve Carney, André De Shields Among Principals

Bronwen Sharp/Hadestown

Reeve Carney, André De Shields and the rest of the original principal cast of London’s sold-out production of Hadestown will star in the upcoming Broadway staging, producers announced today.

Rounding out the principal cast will be Amber Gray, Eva Noblezada and Patrick Page. Hadestown, a musical, updated re-telling of the Orpheus and Eurydice myth, will begin previews March 22 at Broadway’s Walter Kerr Theatre, with an opening night on Wednesday, April 17.

Producers Mara Isaacs, Dale Franzen, Hunter Arnold, and Tom Kirdahy made the casting announcement today. The cast got rave reviews for the just-ended run at London’s National Theatre.

Hadestown, written by singer-songwriter Anaïs Mitchell and developed with director Rachel Chavkin (Natasha, Pierre, & The Great Comet of 1812), utilizes folk music and New Orleans jazz to reimagine the ancient story. The production describes itself thus: “Following two intertwining love stories — that of young dreamers Orpheus and Eurydice, and that of King Hades and his wife Persephone — Hadestown invites audiences on a hell-raising journey to the underworld and back. Mitchell’s beguiling melodies and Chavkin’s poetic imagination pit nature against industry, faith against doubt, and love against fear.”

Carney (Showtime’s Penny Dreadful, Broadway’s Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark) plays Orpheus, with Noblezada as Eurydice, Page as Hades, De Shields as Hermes and Gray as Persephone.

Said director Chavkin: “I’m delighted to be continuing the journey with these artists, some of whom have been with the piece since the beginning. They bring a wild combination of experience, singular musicianship, and a shared joy in mining Anaïs’ poetry and politics.”

The Broadway creative team will include Rachel Hauck (set design), Michael Krass (costume design), Bradley King (lighting design), Nevin Steinberg and Jessica Paz (sound design), David Neumann (choreography), Liam Robinson (music direction and vocal arrangements), and Michael Chorney, Todd Sickafoose (arrangements and orchestrations).

This article was printed from