Final Draft Awards: Callie Khouri, Boots Riley, Tanya Saracho To Be Honored

callie khouri boots riley tanya saracho

Thelma & Louise Oscar winner Callie Khouri, Sorry To Bother You‘s Boots Riley and Vida creator/executive producer Tanya Saracho will be the honorees at this year’s 14th annual Final Draft Awards.

Khouri will be presented the Hall of Fame Award for her contribution to the art of screenwriting and devotion to writers and the writing community. Her movie credits also include Something to Talk About starring Julia Roberts and Dennis Quaid, and she also created Nashville, which ran for six seasons on ABC and CMT.

Previous Final Draft hall of famers include Aaron Sorkin, Nancy Meyers, Lawrence Kasdan, Paul Schrader, Scott Alexander and Larry Karaszewski, Steven Zaillian, Robert Towne, Oliver Stone and Sydney Pollack.

Riley, who wrote and directed his feature film debut Sorry to Bother You which debuted last year at Sundance, will receive the New Voice Award for Film. Saracho, who saw Vida renewed for a second season at Starz, will receive the New Voice Award for Television.

Final Draft, the screenwriting software company, will hold its awards ceremony January 29 at the Paramount Theatre on the Paramount lot, where it will also announce winners of its 2018 Big Break Screenwriting Contest.

This article was printed from