Hollywood Heads To The Polls As Crucial Midterms Take Center Stage – Update

By Dade Hayes, Greg Evans

Twitter

Refresh for updates …ย Election Day has finally arrived, and Hollywood is holding its collective breath to see if the momentum around some of its preferred candidates is borne out at the polls.

With control of Congress and many state governors’ mansions up for grabs, several individual races have drawn attention, especially in consequential states like Georgia, Texas and Florida. A lot of dollars have flowed into Beto O’Rourke’s challenge to incumbent Republican Sen. Ted Cruz in Texas. With interest in the Georgia closely contested governor’s race running high, Oprah Winfrey has been among those knocking on doors trying to make the case for Democrat Stacey Abrams.

One significant factor showing up in a lot of social media posts today is the weather. It may be another sunny day in California but the eastern half of the U.S. is facing storms, high wind and even a bit of snow. That could suppress voter turnout, and studies have shown that lower turnout often favors Republicans.

Below are some of the Election Day thoughts and images being shared by entertainment figures on social media. Hollywood and the media are making their presence known in the midst of one of the most contested midterm elections in recent decades.

Deadline will be live-blogging Election Night starting at 3 p.m. PT, with a focus on major races and how the media is covering the midterms.

View this post on Instagram

Vote!!! Let your voice be heard!!! ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ’•

A post shared by Melissa McCarthy (@melissamccarthy) on

View this post on Instagram

You never know WHO youโ€™re gonna run into at your polling place! I ran into tv and filmโ€™s @mradamscott! Did YOU vote yet????? Go VOTE! RIGHT NOW! TODAY IS THE DAY! TOMORROW IS TOO LATE! I LOVE YOU BYEEEE! Also! There was (what I thought) a big line but I only stood in it for about 25 minutes and then it took me 10 to vote! Easy! ๐Ÿ—ณโค๏ธ๐ŸŒˆ

A post shared by Busy Philipps (@busyphilipps) on

View this post on Instagram

Did it! Have you??? To find out where to vote today go to VoteSaveAmerica.com Link in profile!

A post shared by Billy Eichner (@billyeichner) on

View this post on Instagram

Just over here trying to save the world…

A post shared by Armie Hammer (@armiehammer) on

View this post on Instagram

We see the future…and itโ€™s glorious!!! #ivoted #voteourplanet #votecompassion

A post shared by Adrian Grenier (@adriangrenier) on

View this post on Instagram

I voted! ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ โœ… How about you?!

A post shared by Reese Witherspoon (@reesewitherspoon) on

View this post on Instagram

Be like @eric_mccormack & @therealjamesburrows! Get your I voted sticker and post a picture!

A post shared by Debra Messing (@therealdebramessing) on

View this post on Instagram

Our son was disappointed because he thought we were going to โ€œboatโ€ but otherwise a success! #Vote

A post shared by @ sethmeyers on

View this post on Instagram

#ItsYourRight #ItsYourDuty #ItsAThrill. #ItsInOurHands #PowerToThePeople #ForThePeopleByThePeople #WeCanFixIt #WeCanDoIt #BeTheChange #RainOrShine #CivilRightsAreOnTheBallot

A post shared by Mariska Hargitay (@therealmariskahargitay) on

View this post on Instagram

I did it! Felt soooooo good. #Vote #whenweallvote #WeMatter

A post shared by Kerry Washington (@kerrywashington) on

View this post on Instagram

Go be awesome and VOTE YOUR FRIGGIN FACE OFF!

A post shared by Olivia Wilde (@oliviawilde) on

David Robb contributed to this report.

This article was printed from https://deadline.com/2018/11/midterm-election-hollywood-vote-1202496715/