Sony TV’s 2018 Diverse Directors Program Semifinalists Come Into Focus – Update

UPDATED with semifinalists, 10:15 AM: Sony Pictures Television has announced the 15 semifinalists in its 2018 Diverse Directors Program. The shortlisted folks for fifth annual initiative are Amir Farhang, Charissa Sanjarernsuithikul, Darien Sills-Evans, James Sims, Jeannette Godoy, Kim Nguyen, Leena Pendharkar, Lynda Reiss, Maria Burton, Mel Rodriguez III, Nora Kirkpatrick, Ryan Richmond, Stephanie Martin, Tiffanie Hsu and X. Dean Lim.

PREVIOUS EXCLUSIVE, June 18: Sony Pictures Television has begun accepting applications for its fifth annual Diverse Directors Program, aimed at providing opportunities to talented artists of diverse backgrounds.

Fifteen semi-finalists will participate in the Diverse Directors Program’s episodic directing workshop consisting of six evenings of discussion and instruction from working directors, production personnel and entertainment professionals. About five finalists will then be chosen to work closely with established TV directors on episodes of hour and half-hour scripted SPT series. Last year’s program finalists worked on such shows as The Blacklist, PreacherAtypical and The Goldbergs.

“It’s crucial that our talent is reflective of the diversity of our audience,” said Jeffrey Glaser, EVP Scripted Srogramming at SPT. “The Diverse Directors Program has enabled Sony Pictures Television to be home to a wide array of new voices in the creative community. We’re looking forward to working with another group of emerging directors from all walks of life.”

The Diverse Directors Program begins in October and runs through the following spring. A maximum of 300 online applications will be accepted beginning today through July 16 at

This article was printed from