Jennifer Todd Beats Jason Blum In Runoff For Movie Academy Governors Board Seat – Update

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

UPDATED, 4:15 PM: Oscarcast producer Jennifer Todd has won the Producers Branch runoff election for 2018-19 Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Board of Governors. She beat Blumhouse founder and CEO Jason Blum for the seat. She begins her three-year term on July 1, serving alongside Producers Branch incumbents Albert Berger and Mark Johnson.

It was the fourth time in Academy history, following the 2009 ties in the Directors Branch, the Writers Branch in 2015 and the Film Editors Branch the following year.

PREVIOUSLY, June 14: The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences today announced its newly elected 2018–19 Board of Governors, including four first-timers, 10 incumbents and two returnees. There also will be a runoff between Jason Blum and Jennifer Todd in the Producers Branch.

The rookies are Alfred Molina, Actors Branch; Tom Duffield, Designers Branch; Susanne Bier, Directors Branch; Bonnie Arnold, Short Films and Feature Animation Branch. Molina, who replaces Tom Hanks, beat out competition including Brie Larson, Meg Ryan and Lou Diamond Phillips.

The newbies join incumbents Bernard Telsey (Casting Directors), Daryn Okada (Cinematographers), Rory Kennedy (Documentary), Jim Gianopulos (Executives), Carol Littleton (Film Editors), Lois Burwell (Makeup Artists and Hairstylists), Michael Giacchino (Music), Scott Millan (Sound), John Knoll (Visual Effects) and Billy Ray (Writers).

Returning to the Board after a hiatus are Jeffrey Kurland (Costume Designers) and Sid Ganis (Public Relations).

All will assume their posts on July 1.

The balloting in the Producers Branch produced a tie between candidates Blum and Todd, necessitating a runoff election.  Voting will begin Monday and Tuesday. The Academy most recently held a runoff election in 2016 for the Film Editors Branch.

The Academy’s 17 branches are represented by three governors each, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. The Board of Governors sets the Academy’s strategic vision, preserves the organization’s financial health and assures the fulfillment of its mission.

This article was printed from