‘Roseanne’ EP Whitney Cummings Exits After “Surreal, Incredible” Experience”; Series Adds New Writers For Season 2

By Nellie Andreeva, Denise Petski


UPDATED 11:15 AM: Whitney Cummings will not be back as executive producer/co-showrunner of Roseanne for the show’s 13-episode eleventh season, with executive producer/co-showrunner Bruce Helford taking the reins as the sole showrunner.

“Whitney just had too much on her plate to commit,” Helford told Deadline. “But she’s always a part of the Roseanne family.”

Cummings later confirmed the news on Twitter. “Working on Roseanne was a surreal, incredible experience,” she wrote. “Due to work commitments and my tour schedule, I’m gonna have to watch the Connors from the sidelines next season. It was an honor to work with such an incredible group of actors, writers and crew. Harry Levin, you can stop calling my cell phone now.”

Returning as writers on the show are Wanda Sykes and Norm MacDonald as well as veteran Roseanne alumni Bruce Rasmussen, Dave Caplan, Sid Youngers and Betsy Borns, all of whom had worked on the original, Helford said, noting that the series is adding a number of new writers.

Joining Roseanne next season are Ali Liebegott (Transparent), Mitch and Jana Hunter (The Middle), veteran comedy writers Liz Astrof and Emily Wilson, stand-up comic Jena Friedman, and Ted Jessup (Family Guy).

Roseanne was renewed in March for a 13-episode second revival season, its eleventh overall.

The Carsey-Werner Television-produced sitcom stars Barr as Roseanne Conner, John Goodman as Dan Conner, Laurie Metcalf as Jackie Harris, Lecy Goranson as Becky Conner-Healy, Sara Gilbert as Darlene Conner, Michael Fishman as D.J. Conner, Emma Kenney as Harris Conner-Healy, Ames McNamara as Mark Conner-Healy and Jayden Rey as Mary Conner.

Barr is an executive producer, along with Helford, Sara Gilbert, Tom Werner and Tony Hernandez.

This article was printed from https://deadline.com/2018/05/roseanne-whitney-cummings-exits-co-showrunner-new-writers-season-2-11-abc-1202394091/