TIFF Names Margarethe von Trotta, Béla Tarr & Lee Chang-dong To Platform Jury

Gaetano Lo Porto/AGF/REX/Shutterstock

Love and Fear director Margarethe von Trotta, Damnation director Béla Tarr and Peppermint Candy director Lee Chang-dong have been named to the jury of the Toronto Film Festival’s Platform program.

The trio will oversee the winner of the Toronto Platform Prize, an award of C$25,000 presented to the Best Film in the program, which aims to champion up to 12 works with high artistic merit that also demonstrate a strong directorial vision.

Von Trotta is considered one of the leaders of the New German Cinema movement and first attended TIFF in 1985, Hungarian director Tarr is considered a long-take, existential master and first attended the event in 1988, while Chang-dong, whose latest film Burning is premiering in Cannes, first came to Toronto in 2007.

Last year, the prize was awarded to Warwick Thornton for his drama Sweet Country by a jury consisting of Chen Kaige, Malgorzata Szumowska and Wim Wenders.

The 43rd Toronto Film Festival runs from September 6 to 16, 2018 and the lineup for the Platform program will be announced on August 7.

“We are privileged to have a Platform jury that so perfectly embodies the program’s essence,” said Piers Handling, Director and CEO of TIFF. “Our 2018 jurors’ bold and daringly uncompromising artistic visions have not only influenced, but helped mold the next generation of filmmakers. The wealth of experience, passion, and knowledge that they will bring to this year’s edition will be priceless, and exciting to watch this September.”

This article was printed from https://deadline.com/2018/05/tiff-names-margarethe-von-trotta-bela-tarr-lee-chang-dong-to-platform-jury-1202387161/