Sarasota Film Festival Caps 20th Anniversary Edition With Jury Prizes For ‘I Am Not A Witch’ And ‘Minding The Gap’

Cannes Film Festival

The Sarasota Film Festival ended its 20th anniversary edition Saturday night by announcing jury prizes, which went to I Am Not a Witch for top narrative feature and Minding The Gap as best documentary.

Closing night also featured a screening of Above and Beyond: NASA’s Journey to Tomorrow, plus the presentation of career achievement awards to Virginia Madsen and Steve Guttenberg. Florida’s own Nick Bollettieri, the famed tennis coach, also attended a screening of a documentary about his life, Love Means Zero.

I Am Not a Witch , about an 8-year-old girl in Zambia who is banished to the desert after being convicted of being a witch, premiered last year in Cannes during the Directors’ Fortnight. Minding the Gap, a portrait of three skateboarding friends coping with adulthood in the Rust Belt city of Rockford, Illinois, had its world premiere in January at Sundance.

“We couldn’t be more pleased with the 20th Anniversary of the Sarasota Film Festival, which brought together groundbreaking films and important conversations for our audiences,” said festival president Mark Famiglio. “Congratulations to this year’s winners, the esteemed Festival Jury and our audiences have thoroughly enjoyed your engaging and inspiring films, and we thank you for letting us showcase them here in Sarasota.”

Here are all of the winners of the Sarasota Film Festival Awards:


Narrative Feature Competition Winner

I Am Not A Witch (Directed by Rungano Nyoni)

Documentary Feature Competition Winner

Minding the Gap (Bing Liu)

Independent Vision Competition Winner

Milford Graves: Full Mantis (Jake Meginsky and Neil Young)

Animated Shorts Competition Winner

The Burden (Niki Lindroth von Bahr)

Narrative Short Competition Winner

Lunch Time (Alireza Ghasemi)

Documentary Short Competition Winner

Sand Men (Tal Amiran)


Best Narrative Feature

Hearts Beat Loud (Brett Haley)

Best Documentary Feature

RBG (Betsy West and Julie Cohen)

Best Short Film

Mr. Connolly Has ALS (Dan Habib)

Best In World Cinema

Maktub (Oded Raz)


This article was printed from