Cannes Critics’ Week Sets Jury President Joachim Trier, Chloë Sevigny Among Jurors

Norwegian director Joachim Trier (Louder Than Bombs) will head the jury for the 57th Cannes Critics’ Week (9-17 May), the parallel section of the Cannes Film Festival which honours first and second films.

The director, whose Louder Than Bombs competed for the Palme d’Or in 2015, is joined on the jury by actress and director Chloë Sevigny, BPM (Beats Per Minute) star Nahuel Pérez Biscayart, Vienna Film Festival Director Eva Sangiorgi and French journalist Augustin Trapenard.

Last year the jury was headed by Kleber Mendonça Filho, with Emmanuel Gras’ doc Makala taking home the top award. The strand’s competition has previously included movies by Jeff Nichols (Take Shelter), David Robert Mitchell (It Follows), Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy (The Tribe), Santiago Miter (Paulina), Oliver Laxe (Mimosas), Julia Ducournau (Grave) and Rebecca Zlotowski (Beautiful Thorn).

The jury will hand out the Nespresso Grand Prize to one of the seven movies in competition, the Leica Cine Discovery Prize to one of the 10 shorts, and for the first time, the Louis Roederer Foundation Rising Star Award to an actor or actress from one of the competition’s features.

Trier’s 2017 drama Thelma played at Toronto and was picked up by The Orchard for U.S.

This article was printed from