Publicists Guild Awards: ‘Get Out’, ‘Stranger Things 2’, Deadline’s Mike Fleming Jr. Among Winners

ICG Publicists Guild

UPDATED with complete winners list: The Publicists Guild handed out awards today at its 55th annual luncheon gala, bestowing trophies on the publicity teams behind Universal’s Get Out and Netflix’s Stranger Things 2 with top honors, while also giving Deadline’s Mike Fleming Jr the Press Award.

Get Out, which has scored four Oscar nominations including Best Picture, has grossed $255 million worldwide since its late February release, keeping its awards momentum going all the way to Sunday’s Oscar ceremony. It won the Maxwell Weinberg Publicist Showmanship Motion Picture Award today.

Unit Publicist Denise Godoy took home the Maxwell Weinberg Publicist Showmanship Television Award for Netflix’s Stranger Things 2.

The guild also bestowed its Lifetime Achievement Award on Betty White.

For Fleming, Deadline’s Co-Editor-In-Chief, the victory came after his sixth nomination in the category.

“I’ve been nominated often enough and lost often enough that they call me Susan Lucci in the newsroom,” he said in his speech (I can confirm the generous ribbing). “This is very valuable to me because at Deadline we cover a lot of ground with not a lot of people and a lot of people in this room are largely responsible for much of that. Thanks to my partner Nellie Andreeva, Deadline’s owner Jay Penske, and the entire Deadline team.”

The event at the Beverly Hilton kicked off with comments from Steven Poster, president of the Cinematographers Guild, of which the Publicists Guild is a part. The issue of sexual harassment took center stage in his speech.

“We are in a new era,” he told the crowd. “We all know that the issues of sexual harassment and discrimination after finally receiving the attention that’s long overdue.

“I feel personally that we can’t stand these actions of insult and injury anywhere, and specifically within our own ranks of colleagues and co-workers.

“And to those who ask, ‘Haven’t we done enough?’ Nothing is enough until it all stops. And history would tell us we have not done enough.”

Here is the complete list of winners:

Maxwell Weinberg Publicist Showmanship Motion Picture Award

Get Out, Universal

Maxwell Weinberg Publicist Showmanship Television Award

Stranger Things 2, Denise Godoy, Unit Publicist

Press Award

Mike Fleming Jr, Deadline

International Media Award

Alex Zane (U.K.).

Excellence in Unit Still Photography for Motion Pictures Award

Scott Garfield

Excellence in Unit Still Photography for Television Award

Jennifer Clasen

Les Mason Award

Jan Craft, Warner Bros

Bob Yeager Award (for community service)

Carri McClure

Lifetime Achievement Award

Betty White

Special Recognition

Hollywood Foreign Press Association’s (HFPA) Golden Globes 75th Anniversary

This article was printed from