‘I, Tonya’, ‘The Shape Of Water’ Top Costume Designers Guild Awards — Complete Winners List

By Dino-Ray Ramos, Amanda N'Duka


The 20th annual Costume Designer Guild Awards (CDGA) were handed out tonight and I, Tonya took home the prize of Excellence in Contemporary Film while The Handmaid’s Tale won for Excellence in Contemporary TV.

Hosted by Jane the Virgin star Gina Rodriguez, the ceremony also honored Kerry Washington with the Spotlight Award as well as Guillermo del Toro with the Distinguished Collaborator Award. Oscar-nominated costume designer Joanna Johnston was given the Career Achievement Award while Star Wars costume designer John Mollo was inducted into the CDG Hall of Fame. The evening ended with Oscar-nominated Joanna Johnston receiving the Career Achievement Award from Kathleen Kennedy and a surprise appearance from Sally Field, who Johnston worked with on Lincoln and Forrest Gump.

The Shape of Water beat out Phantom Thread for Excellence in Period Film while winners on the TV side include The Crown and Game of Thrones.

Scoring a CDGA isn’t necessarily a barometer for an Oscar win — but it doesn’t hurt. The guild’s film winners only have struck Oscar gold in nine of the CDG Awards’ 20 years. Last year, La La Land and Hidden Figures won CDGAs, but the Oscar went to Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. I, Tonya isn’t nominated for Best Costume Design at this year’s Oscars, but The Shape of Water is — which may bode well for the Oscar favorite.

Read the complete list of CDGA winners and read how everything went down at the ceremony below.

Career Achievement Award
Joanna Johnston

Excellence in Period Film
The Shape of Water – Luis Sequeira

Excellence in Sci-Fi/Fantasy Film
Wonder Woman – Lindy Hemming

Spotlight Award
Kerry Washington

Excellence in Contemporary Film
I, Tonya – Jennifer Johnson

Excellence in Short Form Design
P!NK: “Beautiful Trauma”, Music Video – Kim Bowen

Distinguished Collaborator Award
Guillermo del Toro

Excellence in Period Television
The Crown – Jane Petrie

Excellence in Sci-Fi/Fantasy Television
Game of Thrones – Michele Clapton

Hall of Fame
John Mollo

Distinguished Service Award
Maggie Schpak

Excellence in Contemporary Television
The Handmaid’s Tale – Ane Crabtree

This article was printed from https://deadline.com/2018/02/cdg-awards-costume-designers-guild-live-blog-and-winners-list-1202297051/