ADG Awards: ‘The Shape Of Water’, ‘Blade Runner 2049’, ‘Logan’ & ‘Coco’ Take Film Trophies — Complete Winners List

By Matt Grobar, Denise Petski

The Shape of Water, Blade Runner 2049, Logan and Coco took top film honors tonight at the 22nd annual ADG Awards. Blade Runner 2049 and The Shape of Water will face off for the Production Design Oscar March 3. Logan was not nominated.

For the first time, the Art Directors Guild included animated feature in its film categories. Coco added to its early awards season wins, taking home the inaugural trophy.

Celebrating excellence in production design during 2017, the Johnathan Fernandez-hosted awards were presented in 11 categories.

Fox Searchlight

The Shape of Water continued its seemingly unstoppable march toward Oscars. The film, nominated for a leading 13 Academy Awards, including best picture and best director for Guillermo del Toro, is coming off Golden Globe, AFI, Broadcast Film Critics, and PGA wins, among others.

There was plenty of interest in the Fantasy Film category this year as it pitted the three top-grossing films of 2017 domestically — Star Wars: The Last Jedi, Beauty and the Beast and Wonder Woman — against War for the Planet of the Apes and Blade Runner 2049.

Only 14 of the 21 previous top ADG Award winners — spanning all three top film categories — have gone on to claim the Oscar. Last year’s top ADG winners were Hidden Figures (Period), Passengers (Fantasy) and La La Land (Contemporary), which later claimed the Academy Award.


On the TV side, Game Of Thrones won for One-Hour Period or Fantasy Single-Camera Series, The Handmaid’s Tale’s Julie Berghoff took the trophy for One-Hour Single Camera Series, beating itself. The praised Hulu drama series was nominated twice in the category. Other TV winners were Will & Grace, GLOW, Black Mirror and Portlandia.

ADG Award career honorees tonight included Kathleen Kennedy (Cinematic Imagery Award), Ron Clements and John Musker (William Cameron Menzies Award), guild president Matthew D. Loeb (Leadership Award) and Michael Baugh (Outstanding Creative Achievement Award). Four men will receive Lifetime Achievement Awards –Norm Newberry, James Murikami, John Moffitt and Martin Kline — and Sir Ken Adam and Tyrus Wong were inducted into the ADG Hall of Fame.


In accepting the Cinematic Imagery Award, eight-time Oscar nominee and Lucasfilm head Kennedy spoke of the importance of imagery.  “Movies ask the audience to believe in something, whether its dinosaurs, Indiana Jones, Abraham Lincoln or Life of Pi,” she said. “The ability to create something we can only speculate about through our imagination…That is the profound impact of cinematic imagery. The images we remember, they stay with us for a lifetime.”

See the complete list of winners and how the night went down below.

Fantasy Feature Film

Blade Runner 2049 — Dennis Gassner

Period Feature Film

The Shape of Water — Paul Denham Austerberry

Contemporary Feature Film

Logan — François Audouy

Animated Feature Film

Coco — Harley Jessup

One-Hour Period or Fantasy Single-Camera Series

Game of Thrones (HBO): “Dragonstone,” “The Queen`s Justice,” “Eastwatch” — Deborah Riley

One-Hour Contemporary Single-Camera Series

The Handmaid’s Tale (Hulu): “Pilot, Offred,” “Birth Day,” “Nolite Te Bastardes Carborundorum” — Julie Berghoff

Television Movie or Limited Series

Black Mirror (Netflix): “USS Callister” — Joel Collins

Half-Hour Single-Camera Series

GLOW (Netflix): “Pilot,” “The Wrath of Kuntar,” “The Dusty Spur” — Todd Fjelsted

Multi-Camera Series

Will & Grace (NBC): “Eleven Years Later,” “A Gay Olde Christmas” — Glenda Rovello

Variety or Competition Series/Awards or Event Special

Portlandia (IFC): “Portland Secedes,” “Ants,” “Fred`s Cell Phone Company” — Schuyler Telleen

Short Format: Web Series, Music Video or Commercial

Star Wars Battlefront II: “Rivalry / PS4” — Jason Edmonds

This article was printed from