‘Darkest Hour’ Filmmaker Joe Wright To Receive Cinema Audio Society Filmmaker Award


Darkest Hour director Joe Wright is receiving the Filmmaker Award at the 54th Annual CAS Awards on Feb. 24th from the Cinema Audio Society. Wright marks the 13th CAS Filmmaker Honoree joining a prestigious list of past recipients: Jon Favreau, Jay Roach, Richard Linklater, Edward Zwick, Jonathan Demme, Rob Marshall, Taylor Hackford, Henry Selick, Paul Mazursky, Bill Condon, Gil Cates and Quentin Tarantino.

The Awards honor Outstanding Achievements in Sound Mixing in seven categories: Motion Pictures, Animated Motion Pictures, Documentary Motion Pictures, Television Movies and Mini-Series, Television Series-One Hour, Television Series-Half Hour and Television-Non-Fiction, Variety, Music Series or Specials.

“The CAS recognized Joe’s commitment to sound when we nominated his film Hanna for Outstanding Sound Mixing Motion Picture,” said CAS President Mark Ulano. “His current film, Darkest Hour, with an amazing performance by Gary Oldman, also exhibits Joe’s passion for all the crafts involved in filmmaking. With the director as conductor, Joe knows how to get the best out of every instrument in the filmmaking orchestra which makes him an excellent choice for Filmmaker.” Darkest Hour may be the film that earns Oldman his first (and long-deserved) Best Actor Oscar.

Wright made his feature film directorial debut in 2005 with Pride & Prejudice which was nominated for four Academy Awards. Wright’s second feature Atonement, based on Ian McEwan’s novel received seven Academy Award nominations including Best Picture, and won the Academy Award for Best Original Score. In 2011, Wright directed Anna Karenina from a screenplay penned by Tom Stoppard. The film was nominated for six BAFTA awards and four Academy Awards, taking home both trophies for Best Costume Design.

The CAS will honor Wright with the award at the Omni Los Angeles Hotel at California Plaza in downtown Los Angeles.

This article was printed from https://deadline.com/2017/12/darkest-hour-director-joe-wright-cinema-audio-society-filmmaker-award-1202231136/