Los Angeles Online Film Critics Name ‘The Shape Of Water’ Best Picture

The Shape Of Water
Fox Searchlight Pictures

The Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society has unveiled its inaugural awards, naming Guillermo del Toro’s The Shape of Water its Best Picture of 2017. The Fox Searchlight pic had four wins overall, including Best Director, Best Actress for Sally Hawkins and Best Score for Alexandre Desplat.

Greta Gerwig’s Lady Bird was voted Best Indie Film, with Gerwig winning the group’s Best Female Director award and Saoirse Ronan taking the Best Actor or Actress 23 and Under honor. The group split its top movie awards among several genres: Wonder Woman is Best Blockbuster, The Big Sick is Best Comedy or Musical, Baby Driver is Best Action/War, and Get Out is Best Sci-Fi/Horror.

The LAOFCS will hand out its awards January 10 at the Taglyan Complex in Los Angeles.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Best Picture

The Shape of Water

Best Actress

Sally Hawkins – The Shape of Water

Best Actor

Gary Oldman – Darkest Hour

Best Supporting Actress

Allison Janney – I, Tonya

Best Supporting Actor (tie)

Patrick Stewart, Logan
Michael Stuhlbarg, Call Me by Your Name

Best Adapted Screenplay

Aaron Sorkin, Molly’s Game

Best Original Screenplay

Jordan Peele, Get Out

Best Male Director

Guillermo del Toro, The Shape of Water

Best Female Director

Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird

Best Animated Film


Best Foreign Film

The Square

Best Documentary (tie)

Jim & Andy: The Great Beyond

Best Visual Effects

War for The Planet of the Apes

Best Cinematography

Roger Deakins, Blade Runner 2049

Best Blockbuster

Wonder Woman

Best Independent Film

Lady Bird

Best First Feature

Jordan Peele, Get Out

Best Comedy or Musical

The Big Sick

Best Action/War

Baby Driver

Best Sci-Fi/Horror

Get Out

Best Actor or Actress 23 and Under

Saoirse Ronan, Lady Bird

Best Stunt Work

Baby Driver

Best Score

Alexandre Desplat, The Shape of Water

Best Editing

Paul Machliss and Jonathan Amos, Baby Driver

Best Visual Effect Performance

Andy Serkis, War for the Planet of the Apes

Special Awards

Trailblazer Award

Jessica Chastain

LAOFCS Achievement Award

Hugh Jackman

This article was printed from https://deadline.com/2017/12/los-angeles-online-film-critics-society-awards-the-shape-of-water-full-list-1202229965/