‘The Shape Of Water’ Named Palm Springs Fest Vanguard Award Winner

The Shape Of Water
Fox Searchlight

Guillermo del Toro’s The Shape of Water has been named Vanguard Award winner of the upcoming Palm Springs Film Festival. The trophy, given to the winner’s cast and director in recognition of an outstanding ensemble, will be presented at the fest’s Film Awards Gala on January 2.

“Guillermo del Toro is a master storyteller, whose boundless imagination has crafted a visually dazzling fable with The Shape of Water,” said Festival Chairman Harold Matzner. “This romantic story of a woman discovering herself as she falls for someone otherworldly is driven by an astounding performance by Sally Hawkins, and features an acclaimed cast including Octavia Spencer, Richard Jenkins, Michael Shannon, Doug Jones and Michael Stulhbarg. This exemplary group of actors brings to life this magical ode to cinema.”

Scheduled to attend the gala are Hawkins, Spencer, Jones and director, writer, and producer del Toro, along with producer J. Miles Dale. Additional cast members scheduled to attend will be announced shortly.

The Film Awards Gala, hosted by Mary Hart, will be held Tuesday, January 2 at the Palm Springs Convention Center. The 29th annual Festival runs January 2-15, 2018. Last year’s Vanguard winner was La La Land.

This article was printed from https://deadline.com/2017/12/the-shape-of-water-palm-springs-festival-vanguard-award-1202218153/