Sony TV’s Diverse Directors Program Has Its 2017 Fellows

Sony Pictures Television unveiled the eight directors selected for its 2017 Diverse Directors Program. Now in its fourth year, the program provides opportunities for artists of diverse backgrounds to work with established television directors on SPT series.


The 2017 program fellows selected from nearly 250 submissions are Alison Turner, Melissa Hickey, Daniel Willis, Tiffany Paulsen, Tanuj Chopra, Milena Govich, Ryan Brown and Joel Novoa. Each will be assigned to work on SPT series including The Blacklist, Timeless, The Goldbergs, Atypical, Preacher, Cobra Kai, Kevin Can Wait, and S.W.A.T.

Several participants were selected to take part in intensive episodic directing workshops, with working directors, production personnel and entertainment professionals. The program fellows then were selected from that pool of candidates.

“Year after year, Sony Pictures Television is lucky to welcome some of the most creative minds in the industry to our team through the Diverse Directors Program,” said Jeffrey Glaser, EVP U.S. Current Programming at Sony Pictures Television Studios. “We look forward to working with these accomplished individuals and opening our doors to new voices.”

Added Brett King, VP Creative Programming, Diversity and Inclusion at Sony Pictures Entertainment, “Each year we’re more impressed with the caliber of talent submitted, and we’re honored and grateful to support this incredible talent on their journey.”

This article was printed from