Gotham Awards: ‘Call Me By Your Name’, ‘Get Out’ Take Top Honors — Winners List

By Dade Hayes, Dino-Ray Ramos, Erik Pedersen


The 27th annual IFP Gotham Awards were handed out tonight in New York, and Luca Guadagnino’s Call Me by Your Name walked away with Best Feature while Jordan Peele’s Get Out came out of the “sunken place” to clean up at the ceremony taking home trophies for Best Director and Screenplay and the Audience Award.


Other big winners of the evening included up-and-coming actor Timothée Chalamet for his role in Call Me by Your Name. Saoirse Ronan walked away with the trophy for Best Actress for her role in Lady Bird, while, in a stunning upset, James Franco won for his role in The Disaster Artist — both are A24 films. Both actors will be hosting Saturday Night Live in December.

In addition to the nominated awards, career tributes went to Jason Blum, Sofia Coppola, Al Gore, Dustin Hoffman, Nicole Kidman and Ed Lachman. The cast of Dee Rees’ Mudbound took home the Special Jury Award for Ensemble Performance, while Michael Kenneth Williams was honored with the Made in NY Award.

The Audience Award is comprised of the 14 docs and features were composed of the 14 films nominated for Best Feature, Best Documentary, and the Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award. Winners were selected by online voting of IFP. In addition this year, the winner of the Breakthrough Series – Short Form (all available on the web) were selected by online IFP member voting. The ceremony was hosted by John Cameron Mitchell.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Best Feature
Call Me by Your Name
Luca Guadagnino, director; Peter Spears, Luca Guadagnino, Emilie Georges, Rodrigo Teixeira, Marco Morabito, James Ivory, Howard Rosenman, producers (Sony Pictures Classics)

Best Documentary
Strong Island
Yance Ford, director; Yance Ford, Joslyn Barnes, producers (Netflix)

Best Director
Jordan Peele, Get Out

Best Actor
James Franco in The Disaster Artist (A24)

Best Actress
Saoirse Ronan in Lady Bird (A24)

Breakthrough Series – Long Form
Atlanta, Donald Glover, creator; Donald Glover, Dianne McGunigle, Paul Simms, executive producers (FX Networks)

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
Jordan Peele for Get Out (Universal Pictures)

Audience Award
Get Out

Breakthrough Series – Short Form
The Strange Eyes of Dr. Myes, Nancy Andrews, creator (YouTube)

Breakthrough Actor
Timothée Chalamet in Call Me by Your Name (Sony Pictures Classics)

Best Screenplay
Get Out, Jordan Peele (Universal Pictures)

This article was printed from