IDA Awards To Honor Marcel Mettelsiefen’s ‘Watani: My Homeland’

Marcel Mettelsiefen

The International Documentary Association has announced the initial round of nominees for the 2017 IDA Documentary Awards. The 33rd annual event will take place December 9 at the Paramount Theatre in Los Angeles.

The IDA will honor director Marcel Mettelsiefen’s Watani: My Homeland with the Pare Lorentz Award, which recognizes work that demonstrates exemplary filmmaking while focusing on the appropriate use of the natural environment, justice for all and the illumination of pressing social problems. It is given in honor of Pare Lorentz, the American documentary filmmaker known for his work examining social and environmental issues of the Depression era.

Also receiving a special mention in the category is Joe Berlinger’s Intent to Destroy.

The IDA provides programs, resources, creates community, and defends rights and freedoms for documentary artists, activists, and journalists. Nominees for this year’s best feature, best short and awards for creative recognition will be announced November 1.

The list of nominees:

Pare Lorentz Award

Watani: My Homeland (Recipient)

Director: Marcel Mettelsiefen

Intent to Destroy (Special Mention)

Director: Joe Berlinger

ABC News VideoSource Award

Blood On The Mountain

Directors: Mari-Lynn Evans and Jordan Freeman

Virgil Films/Netflix


Directors: Tim Golden and Ross McDonnell

Gravitas Ventures, CNN Films


Director: Bryan Fogel


LA 92

Directors: Dan Lindsay & TJ Martin

National Geographic


Director: Vanessa Gould

Kino Lorber

Best Curated Series Award

American Experience

Executive Producer: Mark Samels



Executive Producer: Anders Bruus


Independent Lens

Executive Producers: Lois Vossen and Sally Jo Fifer



Executive Producers: Justine Nagan and Chris White



Executive Producers: Rachel Raney and Amy Shumaker

UNC-TV, South Carolina ETV, NETA  and WORLD

Best Limited Series Award

Daughters of Destiny

Executive Producer: Vanessa Roth


The Defiant Ones

Executive Producers: Allen Hughes, Doug Pray, Andrew Kosove, Broderick Johnson, Laura Lancaster, Jerry Longarzo, Michael Lombardo, and Gene Kirkwood


The Keepers

Executive Producers: Ryan White and Jessica Hargrave


The Vietnam War

Executive Producer: Ken Burns


TIME: The Kalief Browder Story

Executive Producers: Jenner Furst and Nick Sandow


Best Episodic Series Award

Anthony Bourdain Parts Unknown

Executive Producers: Anthony Bourdain, Christopher Collins, Lydia Tenaglia and Sandra Zweig


Chef’s Table

Executive Producers: David Gelb, Matthew Weaver, Brian McGinn, Andrew Fried, Dane Lillegard and Matthew Hilliard


Leah Remini: Scientology and the Aftermath

Executive Producers: Leah Remini, Aaron Saidman, Alex Weresow, Devon-Graham-Hammonds, Elaine Frontain Bryant and Amy Savitsky



Executive Producers: Ron Howard, Brian Grazer, Michael Rosenberg, Dave O’Connor, Jon Kamen, Tommy Turtle, David Sirulnick, Jonathan Silberberg, Lorenzo Mieli, Everardo Gout, Justin Wilkes, Tim Pastore, Matt Renner, Robert Palumbo, and David Sirulneck

National Geographic

Planet Earth II

Executive Producer: Michael Gunton


Best Short Form Series Award

Field of Vision

Executive Producers: Laura Poitras, AJ Schnack and Charlotte Cook

Field of Vision

Shorts on Time

Executive Producers: Julie Parker Benello


The Guardian documentaries

Executive Producers: Charlie Phillips and Lindsay Poulton

The Guardian

The New York Times Op-Docs

Executive Producer: Kathleen Lingo

The New York Times

The Secret Life of Muslims

Executive Producers: Joshua Seftel and Reza Aslan


David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award


Director: Ray Whitehouse

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill


Director: Maayan Arad

National Film and Television School (United Kingdom)

How To Make A Pearl

Director: Jason Hanasik

UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism

Man on Fire

Director: Joel Fendelman

University of Texas, Austin

Room 140

Director: Priscilla Gonzalez Sainz

Stanford University


This article was printed from