SCAD Savannah Film Festival Lineup Set; ‘Molly’s Game’ Opening-Night Film

SCAD Savannah Film Festival

EXCLUSIVE: The SCAD Savannah Film Festival has unveiled its full lineup for its 20th anniversary edition. The fest will run October 28-November 4 at the Savannah College of Art and Design in Georgia.

The 2017 lineup, which kicks off with Sorkin’s directorial debut Molly’s Game, will screen a total of 131 films, including 33 narrative films, 16 documentary films and 82 shorts, most of which are already beginning to build momentum for award season. The event is the largest university-run film festival in the nation. The Centerpiece Gala screening is Lady Bird, written and directed by Greta Gerwig and starring Saoirse Ronan.

The previously announced Sorkin, John Boyega, Salma Hayek Pinault, Holly Hunter, Robert Pattinson and Patrick Stewart who will attend.

Last year, the festival screened five films that went on to receive Oscars including Best Picture winner Moonlight.

Here’s this year’s lineup:


Call Me Be Your Name
(Director: Luca Guadagino. Cast: Armie Hammer, Timothee Chalamet, and Michael Stuhlbarg)

Darkest Hour
(Director: Joe Wright. Cast: Gary Oldman, Kristin Scott Thomas, Lily James, Stephen Dillane and Ben Mendelsohn)

(Director: Alexander Payne. Cast: Matt Damon, Christoph Waltz, Hong Chau, and Kristin Wiig)

Film Stars Don’t Die in Liverpool
(Director: Paul McGuigan. Cast: Annette Bening, Jamie Bell, Julie Walters, and Vanessa Redgrave)

The Florida Project (Director: Sean Baker. Cast: Willem Dafoe, Brooklynn Prince, Bria Vinaite, and Valeria Cotto)

I, Tonya
(Director: Craig Gillespie. Cast: Margot Robbie, Sebastian Stan, and Allison Janney)

Into the Rainbow
(Director: Norman Stone, Gary Wing-Lun Mak. Cast: Willow Shields, Maria Grazia Cucinotta, Wu Lei Leo and Jacqueline Joe) U.S. Premiere

Lady Bird
(Director: Greta Gerwig. Cast: Saoirse Ronan, Laurie Metcalf, Tracy Letts, Lucas Hedges, Timothée Chalamet, Beanie Feldstein, Lois Smith, and Stephen McKinley Henderson)

Last Flag Flying (Director Richard Linklater. Cast: Steve Carell, Bryan Cranston, and Laurence Fishburne)

(Director: Rob Reiner. Cast: Woody Harrelson, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Michael Stahl-David, Rich Sommer, Bill Pullman, C. Thomas Howell, Jeffrey Donovan and Richard Jenkins)

The Leisure Seeker
(Director: Paolo Virzi. Cast: Helen Mirren, and Donald Sutherland)

Molly’s Game (Writer and Director: Aaron Sorkin. Cast: Jessica Chastain, Idris Elba, and Kevin Costner)

(Director: Dee Rees. Cast: Carey Mulligan, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Mitchell, Jason Clarke, Jonathan Banks, Mary J. Blige and Rob Morgan)

The Shape of Water
(Director: Guillermo del Toro. Cast: Sally Hawkins, Michael Shannon, Michael Stuhlbarg, Richard Jenkins, Doug Jones, and Octavia Spencer)

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
(Director: Martin McDonagh. Cast: Frances McDormand, Sam Rockwell, Woody Harrelson, Abbie Cornish, Peter Dinklage, Lucas Hedges, Caleb Landry Jones, Clarke Peters, Samara Weaving, John Hawkes, and Zeljko Ivankek)

The Upside
(Director: Neil Burger. Cast: Bryan Cranston, Kevin Hart, and Nicole Kidman)

(Director: Todd Haynes. Cast: Oakes Fegley, Julianne Moore, and Millicent Simmonds)


Expected to attend this year are directors Evgeny Afineevsky (Cries from Syria); Greg Barker (The Final Year); Bryan Fogel (Icarus); Yance Ford (Strong Island); Amanda Lipitz (Step); Brett Morgen (Jane); Jeff Orlowski (Chasing Coral); Laura Poitras (Risk); John Ridley (Let It Fall: Los Angeles 1982-1992) and Ceyda Torun (Kedi).


Beatriz at Dinner
(Director: Miguel Arteta. Cast: Salma Hayek, John Lithgow, Chloë Sevigny, Connie Britton, David Warshofksy, Amy Landecker, Jay Duplass, and John Early)

The Ballad of Lefty Brown
(Director: Jared Moshe. Cast: Bill Pullman)

Battle of the Sexes
(Director: Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris. Cast: Emma Stone, Steve Carell, Andrea Riseborough, Sarah Silverman, Alan Cumming, Bill Pullman, Elisabeth Shue, Austin Stowell, and Natalie Morales)

The Big Sick
(Director: Michael Showalter. Cast: Kumail Nanjiani, Zoey Kazan, Holly Hunter and Ray Romano)

(Director: Kathryn Bigelow. Cast: John Boyega, Anthony Mackie, Algee Smith, Will Poulter, and Jacob Latimore)

(Director: Max Winkler. Cast: Zoey Deutch, Adam Scott, and Kathryn Hahn)

(Director: Marc Webb. Cast: Chris Evans, McKenna Grace, Lindsay Duncan, Jenny Slate,
and Octavia Spencer)

Good Time
(Director: Benny Safdie, Josh Safdie. Cast: Robert Pattinson, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Benny Safdie, Buddy Duress, and Barkhad Abdi)

I Am Evidence
(Producer Mariska Hargitay. Director: Trish Adelsic, Geeta Gandhbir)

(Director: James Mangold. Cast: Hugh Jackman, Patrick Stewart, Richard E. Grant, Boyd Holbrook, Stephen Merchant, and Dafne Keen)

Norman: The Moderate Rise and Tragic Fall of a New York Fixer
(Director: Joseph Cedar. Cast: Richard Gere, Michael Sheen, and Steve Buscemi)

Ruby in Paradise
(Director: Victor Nuñez. Cast: Ashley Judd, Todd Field, and Bentley Mitchum)

Served Like a Girl
(Director: Lysa Heslov. Cast: Nichole Alred, Jas Boothe, and Rachel Engler)

Story of a Girl
(Director: Kyra Sedgwick. Cast: Kevin Bacon, Sosie Bacon, and Ryann Shane)

Strange Weather
(Director: Katherine Diekmann. Cast: Holly Hunter, Carrie Coon, and Ransom Ashley)

Tulip Fever
(Director: Justin Chadwick. Cast: Alicia Vikander, Dane DeHaan, Jack O’Connell, and Holliday Grainger)

The Year of Spectacular Men
(Director: Lea Thompson. Cast: Madelyn Deutch, Zoey Deutch, Lea Thompson, and Avan Jorgia)

The festival will also spotlight a collection of 45 curated international shorts focusing on world issues, and a series of Below the Line panels on casting costume design, music supervision, production design, and postproduction.

This article was printed from