NFL Schedule: Super Bowl Rematch, L.A. Chargers Debut & All The Primetime Games


The National Football League is out with its 2017 regular-season schedule, and to the surprise of exactly no one, the primetime games are heavy with Tom Brady, Pittsburgh Steelers and the post-Tony Romo Dallas Cowboys.

2017 NFL schedule release

The season will kick off September 7 with a Thursday Night Football matchup between the Kansas City Chiefs and Brady’s defending champion New England Patriots. And Week 7 will see a Super Bowl rematch as the Atlanta Falcons go to Foxboro to play the Patriots. Both games are on NBC.

The now-customary Week 1 Monday Night Football doubleheader will feature the New Orleans Saints at the Minnesota Vikings on ESPN, followed by the debut of the newly relocated Los Angeles Chargers on the road against bitter division rival Denver Broncos. All times listed are Pacific Time.

Related NFL “Fully Committed” To ‘Thursday Night Football’, Denies Report That League Will Consider Sacking It

This year’s annual Thanksgiving tripleheader will see the Minnesota Vikings at the Detroit Lions (9:30 AM, Fox), followed by the Chargers at Dallas (1:30 PM, CBS) and the Washington Redskins hosting the New York Giants (5:30 PM, NBC). With Christmas falling on a Monday, ESPN will air at Battle of the Rabid Fans as the Las Vegas-bound Oakland Raiders visit the Philadelphia Eagles.

The NFL’s International Series this year will feature another regular-season game played in Mexico City, with the Patriots playing the Raiders at Estadio Azteca on November 19. There also will be four games in London: the Baltimore Ravens at Jacksonville Jaguars (6:30 AM, September 24, Wembley Stadium), the Saints at the Dolphins (6:30 AM, October 1, Wembley), the Arizona Cardinals at the Los Angeles Rams (10 AM, October 22, Twickenham Stadium) and the Vikings at the Cleveland Browns (6: 30 AM October 29, Twickenham).

The teams with a leading five primetime games in 2017 include the national favorites the Patriots, Cowboys, Steelers, Eagles and Chiefs along with the resurgent Falcons. Here’s a list of all the primetime games for the 2017 NFL regular season, which will mark the start of NFL’s $50M deal with Amazon for streaming rights to Thursday night games:

Thursday Night Football
(CBS/NBC/NFL Network/Amazon; all games 5:25 PM)

Week 1 (Sept. 7): Kansas City Chiefs at New England Patriots (NBC)
Week 2 (Sept. 14): Houston Texans at Cincinnati Bengals (NFL Network)
Week 3 (Sept. 21): Los Angeles Rams at San Francisco 49ers (NFL Network)
Week 4 (Sept. 28): Chicago Bears at Green Bay Packers (CBS/NFL Network/Amazon)
Week 5 (Oct. 5): New England Patriots at Tampa Bay Buccaneers (CBS/NFL Network/Amazon)
Week 6 (Oct. 12): Philadelphia Eagles at Carolina Panthers (CBS/NFL Network/Amazon)
Week 7 (Oct. 19): Kansas City Chiefs at Oakland Raiders (CBS/NFL Network/Amazon)
Week 8 (Oct. 26): Miami Dolphins at Baltimore Ravens (CBS/NFL Network/Amazon)
Week 9 (Nov. 2): Buffalo Bills at New York Jets (NFL Network)
Week 10 (Nov. 9): Seattle Seahawks at Carolina Panthers (NBC/NFL Network/Amazon)
Week 11 (Nov. 16): Tennessee Titans at Pittsburgh Steelers (NBC/NFL Network/Amazon)
Week 12: Thanksgiving, see above
Week 13: (Nov. 30): Washington Redskins at Dallas Cowboys (NBC/NFL Network/Amazon)
Week 14: (Dec. 7): New Orleans Saints at Atlanta Falcons (NBC/NFL Network/Amazon)
Week 15: (Dec. 14): Denver Broncos at Indianapolis Colts (NBC/NFL Network/Amazon)
Week 15: (Dec. 16; Saturday): Chicago Bears at Detroit Lions (1:30 PM; NFL Network)
Week 15: (Dec. 16; Saturday): Los Angeles Chargers at Kansas City Chiefs (5:25 PM, NFL Network)
Week 16: (Dec. 23; Saturday): Indianapolis Colts at Batimore Ravens (1:30 PM, NFL Network)
Week 16: (Dec. 23; Saturday): Minnesota Vikings at Green Bay Packers (5:30 PM, NFL Network)

Sunday Night Football
(all games 5:30 PM on NBC; * denotes flex game)

Week 1 (Sept. 10): New York Giants at Dallas Cowboys
Week 2 (Sept. 17): Green Bay Packers at Atlanta Falcons
Week 3 (Sept. 24): Oakland Raiders at Washington Redskins
Week 4 (Oct. 1): Indianapolis Colts at Seattle Seahawks
Week 5 (Oct. 8): Kansas City Chiefs at Houston Texans*
Week 6 (Oct. 15): New York Giants at Denver Broncos*
Week 7 (Oct. 22): Atlanta Falcons vs. New England Patriots*
Week 8 (Oct. 29): Pittsburgh Steelers at Detroit Lions*
Week 9 (Nov. 5): Oakland Raiders at Miami Dolphins*
Week 10 (Nov. 12): New England Patriots at Denver Broncos*
Week 11 (Nov. 19): Philadelphia Eagles at Dallas Cowboys*
Week 12 (Nov. 26): Green Bay Packers at Pittsburgh Steelers*
Week 13 (Dec. 3): Philadelphia Eagles at Seattle Seahawks*
Week 14 (Dec. 10): Baltimore Ravens at Pittsburgh Steelers*
Week 15 (Dec. 17): TBA
Week 16 (Dec. 24): TBA

Monday Night Football
(all games at 5:15 PM on ESPN, except where noted)

Week 1 (Sept. 11): New Orleans Saints at Minnesota Vikings, 4 PM
Week 1 (Sept. 11): Los Angeles Chargers at Denver Broncos, 7:15 PM
Week 2 (Sept. 18): Detroit Lions at New York Giants
Week 3 (Sept. 25): Dallas Cowboys at Arizona Cardinals
Week 4 (Oct. 2): Washington Redskins at Kansas City Chiefs
Week 5 (Oct. 9): Minnesota Vikings at Chicago Bears
Week 6 (Oct. 16): Indianapolis Colts at Tennessee Titans
Week 7 (Oct. 23): Washington Redskins at Philadelphia Eagles
Week 8 (Oct. 30): Denver Broncos at Kansas City Chiefs
Week 9 (Nov. 6): Detroit Lions at Green Bay Packers,
Week 10 (Nov. 13): Miami Dolphins at Carolina Panthers
Week 11 (Nov. 20): Atlanta Falcons at Seattle Seahawks
Week 12 (Nov. 27): Houston Texans at Baltimore Ravens
Week 13 (Dec. 4): Pittsburgh Steelers at Cincinnati Bengals
Week 14 (Dec. 11): New England Patriots at Miami Dolphins
Week 15 (Dec. 18): Atlanta Falcons at Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Week 16 (Dec. 25): Oakland Raiders at Philadelphia Eagles

This article was printed from